Ulitimate CS computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2005, 01:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the DFI isnt SLI thats why, you have to modd it into an SLI. have a pencil, mod it lol. anyways i would go with the DFI one.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 21
Default

A definitional question: Is SLI when you run two video cards at once or what does it mean? I am only going to get one card so should I just go with the DFI? Thanks a lot.
__________________

waltsdog is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Get a grip...the guy had a certain price range and you go suggesting to him some of the best stuff money can buy. CS will play on INTEGRATED GRAPHICS....he doesn't need a 7800GTX....a 6600 GT will do him just fine.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 119
Default

on my old p3, 9600xt, 512sdram DELL I played cs:s on the tier below high settings fine.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
2 gb OCZ dual channel platinum
512mb 7900GTX (eVGA)
250gb 16mb WD HD
3550a Dvd/cd rw/r (NEC)
Thermaltake Full Alum. Armor Case
Rmaia is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yes, you should still go with the DFI
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 03:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rmaia
on my old p3, 9600xt, 512sdram DELL I played cs:s on the tier below high settings fine.
My MX440 maxed out the game COMPLETLY.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 04:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

AMD Athlon 64 3000+
DFI Lanparty nForce4 Ultra-D
2x512 Corsair Value Select
GeForce 6600 GT
Seagate 120 gig HD
NEC 3540A
Antec SmartPower 450 watt ATX 2.0 PSU (ATX 2.0 = PCIE)
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 06:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
NIN
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 202
Default

You can build one for 500 to play CS source.

My athlon 2600 and 9600pro plays it well.

What kind of comp do you have now. Maybe you can upgrade it.

Also, I would go nuts playing FPS mutiplayer on Dail-up. Tried it with Quake II and never again.

Sattilite has alot of latancy, it has to travel a log distance. If you get cable on your area get that.
__________________
A+, Network+, and powerpoint certified

Studying Linux+
NIN is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 09:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

yes please point out your current system, CS does not need a very high end system, my P3 1ghz and Ti 4600 maxed it out. I know my friends dell 2.53Ghz with onboard 32mb graphics plays it like glass so you don't need much to play the game. So game us the full system specs of what you got now and if you play anything else besides CS or plan to play any future games with this pc.
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 09:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

for now i show u what i think is all u need for the game and any future games for now.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146890

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194001

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130215

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144160
__________________

__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.