two PSU's?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2005, 08:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default two PSU's??

are there cases designed to hold two PSU's??

if not, I propose putting two 700WATT PSU's into one case...

maybe makeing an adaptor so they could use one cord...??

1400WATTs... overkill...

any thoughts?

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 08:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426

What for?

I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r

he might be planning on making a file server of sorts...but yes it's possible...i don't know exactly how..but i know ppl who have dual PSU's
H4x3r is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765

Yeah, the only case that comes to mind is the Cooler Master Stacker. It has two PSU ports, one on the top and one on the bottom. It can pretty much support any mobo size, including EATX.

Apparantly this CMStacker case is amazing, it has a 30cm low-rpm fan which cools the motherboard.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

You can but you would have to Wire the green and black wires on the 20/24 Pin connectors together, so they would both turn on at the same time, when the power button is hit.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

Or you can just use the second PSU to power all the HDD's CD drives. Put the green/black wire together with a switch in it that you can mount on the case, turn it on before powering the rest of the system up....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 476
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants

1 psu for cd drives, fans, acessories etc, 1 for cpu and gpu and mobo

cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.