Two DVD burners, I feel stupid. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2007, 11:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Two DVD burners, I feel stupid.

What do you mean by jumper cables and what was coming loose on the mobo? You can norrow your problem down by methodicaly trying different combinations of configurations. First start by making sure both drives function. You've done that by using 2 IDE ribbons. Next put them both on the new ribbon you just bought, I assume you already did this however. Switch places (master/slave) on the ribbon. If the same drive still shows it may be a power supply problem, or at least a molex connector. If thats not how it pans out we have narrowed it down to the mobo and her bios. To go any further I would need your mobo make and model.
__________________

QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 09:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Two DVD burners, I feel stupid.

My motherboard model is as follows : Asus A8N-SLi Premium. I haven't gone as far as a new powersupply yet, the thing is, I've eliminated the drives function by using 2 individual IDE ribbons. One plugs in Master Primary/Slave Primary on my motherboard, with the information can you narrow down any other problems or reasons why the bios will not read the second drive as a Slave Secondary?
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Two DVD burners, I feel stupid.

it never hurts to try a cmos restart
cakebox is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 12:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Two DVD burners, I feel stupid.

It was happening to me what i did is set one drive to slave and the other to master, then i used 1 ribbon with two ide connextions and connected that to my dvd drive and dvd burner and thats how i got the mobo to recognize my drives gl.
__________________

__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are people so bleeping stupid? superdave1984 Off Topic Discussion 21 08-01-2007 06:40 PM
maybe a stupid question about magnets hdansjr Off Topic Discussion 10 04-27-2007 10:39 AM
Stupid Comodo Firewall!! veg1992 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 04-03-2007 08:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.