TV tuner card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2006, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 40
Default TV tuner card

I want to buy a tv tuner card but i dont know which one to buy. Im leaning towards the hauppage tv-pvr-150 (1042). Im planning to record shows on my computers, I will also buy a big hard drive just for this. ok the question is, is there any program that i can download so that i can schedule a recording?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img467.imageshack.us/img467/6756/mysig1cn.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"454\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
sypher0725 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 02:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Read some reviews about the card you are looking at. It probally will come with that.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 40
Default

it doesnt, im buying a white box version
__________________
<img src=\"http://img467.imageshack.us/img467/6756/mysig1cn.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"454\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
sypher0725 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Make sure you get SnapStream's Beyond TV 4, and update it!

I don't like anything from ATI, but their drivers and software is the biggest joke in the world
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 09:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 40
Default

ati....yuk, my cousin had an allinwonder and I didnt like the restrictions. For those of you looking for the software I recommend you GBPVR, its free and its the best program out there, in my opinion better than beyond tv and wintv2000. http://www.gbpvr.com/
If you use it and like it please support the author by donating, I already did
this application is great works just like a real tivo.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img467.imageshack.us/img467/6756/mysig1cn.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"454\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
sypher0725 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I have a PVR-150, it used to work great in Linux and Windows, but now it just works great in Windows. I think this is my fault, and its not the card's fault. It's a software problem.
The General is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

not to steal the thread but has anyone had any good tuner card ( forget bout the software im only worried bout drivers,resolution, and sharpness ) I can find a recorder program anywhere, i dont care who makes the card and Im really wanting the full deal ( fm radio, the svideo in, compsit, remote, etc) thanks

PS. srry sypher0725 if this dont help u also i figure it will give u some more options
harley3344 is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 152
Default

i have the hauppage pvr tv tuner and it comes with tv recording software.
__________________

joshshift is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.