tv tuner - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2007, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default tv tuner

I need a pci tuner it will be plugged into this:

COMMELL LV-676 Intel Core 2 Duo Desktop LGA775 Mini-ITX Motherboard
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: tv tuner

As a newbie here I would first ask what OS are you currently running? XP, Vista, Apple/Mac, Linux? That can be a big help at pointing you towards a Haugepauge or AverMedia's PCI lineup seen at AVerMedia - Internal PCI TV Tuner Products, PCI TV Tuners, PCI TV Tuner, TV Tuner, TV Tuners, Media Center, Media Center Edition, MCE 2005
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 09:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: tv tuner

I personally reccomend:

Newegg.com - Hauppauge WinTV-PVR 500 MCE White box PCI Interface Personal Video Recorder - Retail

Thats what I used to have untill I made my new gaming machine which I had no use for the tv card, its sitting round somewere...

Someone else may think differently, im just talking from experience, never had a problem with it. It's good value but post your budget anyway so other people can reccomend stuff.
Antz. is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: tv tuner

The version of Windows or the OS used will be important as well. With Vista you will need the Vista ready software since the XP or XP MCE software won't run for many cards. The Hauppage model there has MCE(Media Center Edition) as the software used.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: tv tuner

I agree, that video card will be sweet for you if you have XP
Antz. is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 05:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: tv tuner

I haven't decided on the OS yet either linux mce or windows mce. Budget lol who needs one of those my budget is best performance/price

I think I am going to use this one Hauppauge WinTV-HVR4000 HD digital satellite DVB-S2 TV Tuner (1170)
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 05:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: tv tuner

For any of these types of card you won't find too much Linux support even now. Some companies are now starting to carry drivers for other things. But the software/drivers are all Windows/Apple/Mac mostly. The model there shows XP with SP2.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 05:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: tv tuner

what kind of case will you be putting it in?

doubt it will fit if you're buying a mini-itx board...
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: tv tuner

this is a week old....... the build has been suspended till the summer Kustompcs.co.uk are now striving to help me with my build nice guys there you send them what parts you need and they will either get it in stock especially for you from their suppliers or tell you where the component is available for a reasonable rate. Its great to have an on-line store with actual people available to talk to and treat you like a person when I sent an email to scan.co.uk they just gave me a statement about the parts not being available at this time .

cut a long story short I discovered to rout sky through your tv you either need a sky box or two free pci slots so instead I am getting a 8500GT passively cooled
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 07:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: tv tuner

i too was looking for a tv tuner. anyone know which one is for for use in vista ultimate?????????????
__________________

siddanth3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: ATI tv wonder elite, tv tuner. ncjimn Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-26-2007 08:33 PM
TV Tuner problems tigerfootball05 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-21-2007 09:05 PM
Spooler Service! ARGH Keystrokes Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-13-2007 09:17 PM
tv sound conflict aj2003 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 04-11-2007 09:46 AM
DVI vs VGA on an LCD Moniter spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-24-2007 11:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.