Tv/Monitor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2006, 01:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 42
Default Tv/Monitor?

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a Monitor that also doubles as a tv? I'm looking for a combo of the two that has HDTV so I can plug in my ps3 to it when it comes out. I'm not sure if such a tv/monitor exists, but if one does could I get a link to it?
thanks
__________________

Xarulsis is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 01:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

Just a high resolution TV is what youd need. But those are very spendy... prolly need 1080p or so TV to get great computer graphics. And need a vid card with TV out as anything out for the last couple years does have. But to run a big screen such as a TV, vid card will need some power to it as well.
__________________

Inferno is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 05:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

There are plenty of LCD/TV's on the market that can be used as monitors. Thing is, you have to have a very high-end videocard if you want to game on them.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=235416

I have this TV/Monitor and its awsome... Clean Clear Picture with no dead Pixels... plays all games great at 1280x768... and in Widescreen Looks great... i have no cons on this monitor all good...
__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 11:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Default

As long as you have a video card with DVI output you should be able to connect it to any TV with HDMI or DVI input.

Personally, what I have is a Denon A/V Receiver with HDMI switching, so I can run everything into the receiver and out into my 19" widescreen monitor using DVI.
zero88 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

I was browsing around and found these as a hdtv/monitor a few people have them at the gamestop forums and they like it, You can get them at best buy. Westinghouse

zThey have ones that run at 720p and 1080p.
__________________

lastshot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.