Tuniq Tower RPM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2007, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Tuniq Tower RPM?

My mobo is reporting the rpm at startup of the tuniq tower to be about 850ish rpm. This is strange in that the operating rpm is supposed to be 1000-2000 rpm range. I hooked up the rheteostat fan controller thing they provide and when I move it from hi to low, I hear no audible sound increase and no rpm change in the bios. I do however visually see the fan briefly stop and spin up again when I do change the controller value. I was wondering what kinds of rpms do you guys have for your tuniq and is defective or something?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

I approximately get in between 1050 and 1950rpm minimum and maximum respectively. How is your hsf getting power?
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
I approximately get in between 1050 and 1950rpm minimum and maximum respectively. How is your hsf getting power?
connected to the CPU_Fan 3 pin thingy on the mobo
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

Try connecting it to one of the sys_fan ports, i also had a problem w/ the cpu_fan port, the fan wouldnt power up at all.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
Try connecting it to one of the sys_fan ports, i also had a problem w/ the cpu_fan port, the fan wouldnt power up at all.
hmmm good idea too bad I tied all the cables down thought...so that kinda sucks :P

also theres no differance between the sys_fan ports and the cpu_fan port?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

cpu fan is 4 pin and sys fan is 3 pin, it will fit on both but on cpu fan one pin is exposed, it may work idk
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 01:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

Mine is 2150 at max speed, thats 100% and its running 100% all the time

Edit: I barely get any noise, it seems like its not even turned on hehe.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 01:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

mine was at 21xx something.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 09:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
cpu fan is 4 pin and sys fan is 3 pin, it will fit on both but on cpu fan one pin is exposed, it may work idk
well the tuniq tower only has 3 pin connector anyway so I dont think it even matters
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 09:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Tuniq Tower RPM?

my mobo is reporting the rpm to be 0 at first and then it changed to 300 rpm. When I look at the tuniq tower fan itself from under the fins I see it momentarily stopping and starting ( much like my vigor TEC HSF did and I was told this was normal and due to the chips being so cold ) but 40 celcius idle doesn't seem to be cold...I unplugged the tuniq towers connection to the controller ( which seemed to do nothing ) and nothing happened... I guess next ill try to put it in a system fan but problem is the tuniq towers wire may be too short and have to rest on my ram or something.
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attention all Tuniq tower 120 owners! Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 30 08-25-2007 03:10 PM
wtb: Tuniq tower 120 screws ssjheero_yuy99 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 08-12-2007 02:09 PM
Further confusion, Tuniq tower related Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 14 07-21-2007 06:33 PM
Just got my tuniq tower! Raknor Overclocking and Modding 10 06-25-2007 11:23 AM
Tuniq Tower Cooler w/ Antec 900 Case Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-15-2007 09:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.