Tuniq cooler.... wow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2008, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Tuniq cooler.... wow - Questions!

Alright this sucker is a monster. haha. I heard you guys say it was big, but I didn't picture it as 10 times the size of my previous cooler. I'm hoping it fits... However I think it will. I have a few questions.

1st. There are 3 sets of instructions. P4, K8, and 3.775. What do I follow? What do they means? 2 of the instructions require me to take out my motherboard which would be a major pain.

2nd. There are wires everywhere. Does it matter if some touch the heat sincs? I know they're hot, but I don't know how I could get around it.

3rd. How do I know which side the fan is shooting out. That way I can direct the hot air to an exhaust.

4th. I have a fan directly above the tuniq cooler. It's a 120 mm slot. Would it help cool it a lot? I see a plate on top of the cooler so I don't know how effective it will be.

5th. My stock cpu has a 4 prong slot and a 4 prong slot on the mobo. The tuniq has a two prong slot.
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

use the 775 one.

heres a pic of mine and how big it is:


this is how i have my fan arranged...its blowing out toward the top of my case..yours will be the same as well.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
use the 775 one.

this is how i have my fan arranged...its blowing out toward the top of my case..yours will be the same as well.
My top fan is actually up and over 5 inches. Straight up for me is my psu. However the cpu is directly next to the back exaust so I plan to use that side for the exaust. Your pictures shows me which way the fan blows so that's answered!
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

Alright, I just noticed the tuniq has two plugs. A 3 prong and a 2 prong. What are the two. Is one an extra for different boards?
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

I have this same cooler, What PSU are you going to use to power all of that build?
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 04:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase-Six View Post
I have this same cooler, What PSU are you going to use to power all of that build?
I have a corsair 620 Watt psu. Links in my signature.
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 09:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by smashedpumpkins View Post
Alright, I just noticed the tuniq has two plugs. A 3 prong and a 2 prong. What are the two. Is one an extra for different boards?
the 3 prong is where you plug it into the motherboard...the 2 pin is for the fan controller that you should have.
mgcook is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 09:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

oh yeah, if you need help overclocking with your board. let me know...there are some voltage changes you need to make first before doing so.
mgcook is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 10:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

same cooler as well. I didnt expect it to be so big either.

im also using MX-2 too, the CPU is clocked at 2.8GHz, n temps show that it is at 25 C, according to my LED on my PC, 17 C from my MSI Dual-core optimizer.

25 C n im clocked at 2.8GHz already! HOLY ****!!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 11:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Tuniq cooler.... wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
the 3 prong is where you plug it into the motherboard...the 2 pin is for the fan controller that you should have.
Yep, found this out when I looked at the other peices.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
oh yeah, if you need help overclocking with your board. let me know...there are some voltage changes you need to make first before doing so.
Sounds good, I will overclock very soon. I know near to nothing so I plan to do a lot of researching. I just installed an exaust on the roof of my case and I installed 3 side fans plus the tuniq cooler. I have my pc on but doing nothing just to see how cool things run. What voltages are you talking about? Ones that are different then I'd find when looking around and seraching etc..? Let me know anything as I'm getting ready and excited!.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
same cooler as well. I didnt expect it to be so big either.

im also using MX-2 too, the CPU is clocked at 2.8GHz, n temps show that it is at 25 C, according to my LED on my PC, 17 C from my MSI Dual-core optimizer.

25 C n im clocked at 2.8GHz already! HOLY ****!!
Yeah I had to knock out my 4th side fan because of it. But that's alright as I'm glad to get this one in. As for temps good! I can't wait to start!
__________________

__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help installing 8800 Ultra cooler krazyq Overclocking and Modding 31 12-24-2007 01:31 PM
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM
OMG, I need your help... thermal paste/Stock COOLER problem... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-22-2007 03:53 AM
Tuniq Tower Cooler w/ Antec 900 Case Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-15-2007 09:04 AM
Best CPU cooler sammybaines New Systems | Building and Buying 23 04-09-2007 09:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.