trying to upgrade old system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2008, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default trying to upgrade old system

I've got a system that's about 3-4 years old now and while I want to upgrade the entire thing, that won't happen until the spring when I have the money available.

In the mean time, I could afford a partial upgrade, but don't see the point to upgrade a part and replace it in a few months, so i'm trying to see if I can upgrade just the video card in my system to something that'd be fairly good in a medium end gaming computer.

I'd like to upgrade my video card to a really nice one, but don't know if my PSU can support a new one.

Currently:
3.0ghz single core intel
asus P5GD1-VM mobo
1.5gb ram (probably just ddr can't remember)
geforce 6600GT
1 hd
2 dvd burners
431w enermax psu

I've got a pci-e slot and saw that pci-e 2.0 is backwards compatible, so I guess the video card would just run a little slower on my old board until I upgrade it in the future? I could live with that, just need to know how good of a card 431w could support. I'd like to get an 8800gt at least, preferably a 9800gt as they're not that expensive. So can 431w run the 8800 or 9800? Assuming they fit in my case, the ram gets awful close to where the card would stick out...

IF I have to upgrade my psu then lets say the future setup will be:
probably quad core (I do a lot of photoshop stuff)
4gb ram or more
1-2 hd
2 burners
9800gt

So how many watts would I need to be safe with something like that?

thanks,
Jeremy
__________________

zeldaboy101 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: trying to upgrade old system

I guess i'm kind of confused, are you going to have a total of 4HDD and 4 burners? The ram and graphics card won't put a few more watts to your system but if you would, a 500w might solve the problem.

but, from what i see this won't stress your psu much.
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: trying to upgrade old system

No, if I upgrade the video card now i'll still have 1hd and 2 burners. If I upgrade just about everything i'll keep the same hd, maybe add 1, and keep the same 2 burners.

So for my current system a new video card won't push the psu too much more? Now I gotta see if the ram gets in the way of a longer card.
zeldaboy101 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 11:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: trying to upgrade old system

Yeah, for the amount of things your putting in, it's not stressing it at all, I wouldn't SLi, but, to keep things I guess, 'fair' or in your best interest i'd upgrade that psu soon.
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 11:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: trying to upgrade old system

um it really depends on the amps of the 12v rail on your psu. there could be a psu that has 1000w but only outputs 5A on the 12v rail. as far as your new system goes a corsair 650w would have no problem powering it all
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 01:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: trying to upgrade old system

Alright, thanks for the info guys I really appreciate it.
zeldaboy101 is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 01:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
1337 ßtatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: trying to upgrade old system

You can get a Corsair 750TX from Buy.com for about the same price as a 650TX on newegg.com.
__________________

1337_JohnN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
A minor upgrade (Attempt #2) blackhawk13 System Upgrades 7 05-09-2008 02:03 PM
Is my system being bottlenecked? Rayzerwulf Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 11-06-2007 09:46 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.