Trying this setup, need input. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2011, 03:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 188
Default Trying this setup, need input.

This is my PSU - OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ600MXSP 600W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply compatible with core i7

This will be my MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-880GMA-UD2H AM3 AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

This may be my Heatsink - COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm CPU Cooler Compatible Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7

These may be my fans - Rosewill RCA-1204BL 120mm Sleeve 4 Blue LED Case Fan, 4/PK

Here's where the questions start flying...

I want to mount two of these fans on either side of the heatsink, scrapping the stock fan it comes with. I will have the remaining two fans mounted on my case (intake/exhaust). I need to know if my mobo and or PSU has enough open connectors to run 4 fans, and where or how they would be connected. Will I need any extra wires/adapters? Finally, when mounting these fans to both sides of the heatsink should I have them exhaust, one exhaust and one intake, or both intake?

My case measures in at 7.5" wide, I'm sure I can fit this.

Also note, this PSU should be coming in the mail later today so I'm unsure how many adapters it's going to be coming with. Looks like there's a lot of wiring included. I'm somewhat hardware illiterate ATM.

KJamesJR is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 10:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,723
Default Re: Trying this setup, need input.

the power supply doesn't come with any kind of adapters for anything, just the cable connections to supply power, as its name would imply .

i have that same set of fans actually, and as they come, they don't have the right connection to be powered directly from the psu, they use a 3-pin connection that you would usually hook up to the mobo.

it looks like that mobo has two 3-pin connections available, but you'd still need two more for the other two fans.

what you could do is buy two of these adapters - APEVIA Power 4 PIN Adapter TO 3 PIN Fan Adapter Model CVT43
which will let you power the 3-pin fans from the 4-pin molex connections from the psu.

or instead get a fan controller (no adapters needed) and you could power all 4 fans directly from the power supply, plus you can manually control their rpm speed from the outside of your case, just turn the knob. - Scythe KQ01-BK-3.5 "KAZE Q" Fan Controller
i have this one and it does its job well.

that heatsink will do. what you wanna do is get a push/pull setup, where one fan blows (pushes) air into it, and one fan sucks (pulls) air away from it.

this should explain it a bit more.

with a pic from our own Slay

when you do this you want it to face the back of your case.

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 01-07-2011, 02:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 188
Default Re: Trying this setup, need input.

And I would imagine that fan controller would mount into a 3.5 bay?
KJamesJR is offline  
Old 01-07-2011, 02:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
Abstract Hero's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Trying this setup, need input.

- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 11:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 188
Default Re: Trying this setup, need input.

Hate to bring this back up again... But will this heatsink fit in a case 7.5" wide on a mATX mobo with 4 RAM slots filled???

Case - Rosewill R101-P-BK 120mm Fan MicroATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Mobo - ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

I know the case is bland but I can always upgrade later I guess.
KJamesJR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triple monitor Eyefinity setup, what's the best affordable setup CalcProgrammer1 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-24-2010 09:59 PM
Windows XP Setup Restarts the Setup Program When Your Computer Restarts Jon_M63 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-16-2010 06:40 PM
Make Win Setup-Disk that also installs applications during setup Xenesis Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-26-2009 05:39 PM
Cooling setup that includes Heat Pipes, Peltier and a liquid setup. enGRAVEr Overclocking and Modding 2 07-08-2005 07:43 AM
Setup Not complete. Please Run Setup Again error WillyWonka Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-23-2004 01:20 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.