Trying to add more memory to my new system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2007, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
Default Trying to add more memory to my new system

I've had my new system build for a few weeks, and I've decided to upgrade the memory from 2 to 4 megs.

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Newegg.com - EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail

I'm running the 32-Bit Vista (premium).

The two megs show up just fine (2048 MB). When I add the other two, I end up with 2813 MB. If I only put one of the two memory sticks in (to either bank), it still show up as 2813 MB. I'm confident that all four sticks are fine and all banks are working correctly. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
__________________

ycoidi2000 is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
Default Re: Trying to add more memory to my new system

I think I just unfortunately answered my own question:

The system memory that is reported in the System Information dialog box in Windows Vista is less than you expect if 4 GB of RAM is installed
__________________

ycoidi2000 is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Trying to add more memory to my new system

yeah you need 64 bit version of Vista to see more then about 3gb of ram.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Trying to add more memory to my new system

depends on the graphics card actually......
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 08:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Trying to add more memory to my new system

didnt it just say a workaround is to have a mb supporting at least 8gb.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Trying to add more memory to my new system

and you mean GB not MB if your talking ram
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Trying to add more memory to my new system

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
didnt it just say a workaround is to have a mb supporting at least 8gb.
i meant Mother Board with the mb
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
endless restart canooten Microsoft Windows and Software 11 03-26-2007 09:26 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.