The Truth About Processor Performance (a.k.a AMD GHz vs. Intel GHz) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 10:57 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Well AMD has it's competition for the Core 2 Quad in Q3 of '07, but only one quarter later, Intel has their 45nm version of the Core 2 series, including Quad Cores that work at upwards of 3Ghz (up to 3.73Ghz). Can't say things look too good for AMD for a while. There's a similar situation with AMD's K8L Dual Cores and Intel's 45nm Dual Cores.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 07:47 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Please post a seperate thread about this so as to not litter the sticky.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 09:52 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default

Thanks for the info it helped me out on determing on what processor i should buy, because im building a new computer.
mizner07 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 08:00 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
.

And just a minor correction, but Core 2 Duo has a 12-stage pipeline, not 14.
I have searched by google, and I found that Core 2 Duo has a 14-stage pipeline
maroon1 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 02:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default

What does 14 stage pipeline mean?
mizner07 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 04:59 PM   #26 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

^ Try reading nitesticks first post as a starter
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:55 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
I have searched by google, and I found that Core 2 Duo has a 14-stage pipeline
My bad. Its the Athlon 64 that has a 12-stage pipeline, and not the Conroe. I knew it was one or the other. In any case, a correction is in order.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 04:50 AM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Thumbs up we beg of thee for more

EXCELLENT POST.

AMD vs INTEL = popcorn and Tech-Forums!


I WAS WONDERING IF WE COULD ADD MORE BRAIN SOOTHING INFORMATION.

I COULD READ ON AND ON AND ON AND ON.


Fascination is empowerment of todays minds. ( dank quote by myself xD )
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:02 PM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

PEOPLE, PLEASE, PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD STOP JACKING THE GUIDE WITH UNRELATED QUESTIONS!!!!!!!
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 03:58 PM   #30 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default

good info, my 3800+ is just sweeeet
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.