TRUE running at 48C idle! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2008, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default TRUE running at 48C idle!

So got my TRUE up and running....when I first got it I was still using the Antec 900, was a bit peeved I couldn't mount it rear facing as I wanted the cross draft from font to back...but since I was switching to the cosmos 100 which doesn't have front intake the bottom to top air flow was ok and is how its mounted now.

First in with no fan temps at idle were 48C!!!! Re-applied the paste and a fan and now idle is 24C. Temps taken from bios.

Some quick questions:

1) was that 48C normal for no fan? Heatsink was hot to the touch!

2) Since the paste is fresh again should i give it some cure time before overclocking? Or is it good to go out of the tube.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

What thermal paste?
How much and in what manner was it applied?
What is room ambient temparture.



48C idle is not normal.

Go ahead and lap the IHS and heatsink base.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

If your using AS5 it takes a little while for it to settle so that the temps are as low as possible.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

48 idle seems normal if you dont have a fan on it.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
48 idle seems normal if you dont have a fan on it.
Thats crazy talk.
Ste is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

im hitting about 50 idle on my quad with a afp7 with a fan. Gah. My room is hotter than **** though. Im guna grab a true once i get my afp7 sold tho. Its not good when your room is 80 degrees !
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 04:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

TRUEs are known for terribly crooked and uneven bases... I know because I have one, and it was ridiculously convex, I should've given Thermalright a call and ask not only for a replacement, but also credit for 6 TRUEs because the workmanship was so utterly disgusting. Took me a few hours in all, I had to use 125 grit sandpaper for almost an hour just to get the initial flattening done, it was brutal

so get a flat razer blade from a shaver, or something you can absoluteley trust being 100% flat/straight, put it on top of the base and shine a light from the back, bring it to eye level, if you see cracks of light, then it's uneven

contact is key

do the same test on your chip too

my TRUE looked something like this: http://cryo-laboratory.com/upload/us...kflatness1.jpg

but the spacing was much much wider than that, it was real bad, I wish I took pictures, I could even see these 1mm thick circular sanding lines, like this: http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/9039/roughjh8.jpg but twice as thick, I got a real bad one
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 04:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

i love my tuniq tower for these reasons, flat base ftw, and i idel at like44 at 3.7ghz oc on my quad, and ive yet to lap.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 05:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

Mine is sitting around 44ish idle at 3.6ghz but thats because its like 75F in my apt. During the winter when it sits at 60F, i idle at around 35C. Why couldnt you mount it verticle. I had no issues mounting my TRUE verticle or horizontal in my 900.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 05:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: TRUE running at 48C idle!

Yeah, definitly didn't seem normal to me at 48C at idle.

I applied a grain like amount of MX-2 to the middle of the cpu and then placed the TRUE on top of it squishing it out. Room temp is cool, is a basement office.

Anyways, second application seems to have gone better now is consistantly at 24ish at idle. Core 1 at 22 and core 2 at 26.

I plan on lapping, I didn't check how flat it was but I can feel the small ridges if I run my fingernail accross it. I just want to do a OC before the lapping and then again after to see the difference.

[edit]

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Mine is sitting around 44ish idle at 3.6ghz but thats because its like 75F in my apt. During the winter when it sits at 60F, i idle at around 35C. Why couldnt you mount it verticle. I had no issues mounting my TRUE verticle or horizontal in my 900.
I could be wrong but I think with the on AMD AM2 cpu set you can only face the TRUE in one of two dirrections depending on how the mount was build into the mobo, mine can only face up or down unless i do some serious modding on the mounting bracket. Take a look at this mobo on the close up shot, if you line the holes up its a rectangle, not a square so you can't just flip the mounting bracket any way you want, only goes on one of two ways:

NCIX.com - Buy Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H AMD 780G mATX AM2+ 1PCI-EX 2PCI SATA W/RAID Video Sound GLAN 1394 Motherboard - GA-MA78GM-S2H In Canada.

Atleast that's how i see it unless i didn't read the assembly instructions correctly and there is another way to mount it horizontally.

Check this site out, you'll see the AM2 mounting bracket part way down in Step 3

http://www.thermalright.com/new_a_pa...er_u120ex.html

Note that the holes on the bracket for a rectangle so only goes on one of two ways...[/edit]
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Solved* CPU usage higher at idle. cliffhucker Microsoft Windows and Software 13 03-09-2008 12:20 AM
Internet running slow on one computer onizzy Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 08-14-2007 02:12 AM
Am I running to hot? AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-30-2007 03:59 AM
XP running slow -CPU @100% 70%of the time! ryanrs Microsoft Windows and Software 16 07-10-2007 07:36 AM
Computer Running Very Slow!! Please help! johnc123 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-10-2007 11:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.