Troubleshooting... Boot Up stuck on the pentium 4 screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2007, 01:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Exclamation Troubleshooting... Boot Up stuck on the pentium 4 screen

Hey guys I am running a a shuttle XPC (Model: SB61G2)

PC Specs:
Pentium 4 Celeron 2.4 Ghz with HPT
512 MB DDR1 Ram


It was given to me from a friend and I am trying to put my hard drive from my old computer in it. The old computer's hard drive works perfectly and currently still runs. It is just very slow with a 900 Mhz processor and 256 MB of SDRAM.

When I plug in my Hard Drive into the system , It greezes in the Pentium 4 logo screen. But when I unplug my hard drive and just leave the CD-Rom drive, it passes the Pentium 4 logo screenand checks RAM and CPU then asks for a bootable CD.

I triep chainging some of the Bios settings... but I can't pinpoint the source of the problem. Please offer me any kind of ideas or thoughts about this problem. Please let me know if you need any more information.

Thank you so much and have a good day!
__________________

CJohn75 is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Troubleshooting... Boot Up stuck on the pentium 4 screen

that sounds odd. almost a pointless question, is the drive IDE or SATA? it could have to do with jumper settings or incompatibility between the drives if they are on the same cable. for now i think you should get a hold of a live cd linux such as DSL just to see if the PC will boot.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 02:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Exclamation Re: Troubleshooting... Boot Up stuck on the pentium 4 screen

Jumper setting for SATA to IDE? Is the jumper setting on the motherboard.... my friend did mention using SATA HD not IDE (but I don't know why he said that)... I can't ask my friend because he is o0ut of town.

I'll try booting in a different CD like windows...

Please let me know how to change the SATA to IDE jumper setting...\

keep the ideas coming...

Thanks a million!
CJohn75 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck or Dead Pixel? silentex Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 11-27-2007 01:15 PM
boot up and shut down screen jesspren6 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-06-2007 04:50 PM
getting rid of a dual boot screen? TimBlanchard Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-04-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.