Trouble removing Heatsink - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default Trouble removing Heatsink

its the one with the latch on it..and i cant get the thing to budge...any help would be great....i also have a new heatsink that came with a thermal pad already on it....should i just use that ?...or scrap it off and put on something else on it??
__________________

eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

the one with the latch on it, eh? That's about as clear as a crystal. Maybe you should notify us what kind of processor and heatsink and fan you're using.

As far as the second part... Will you be overclocking at all? If not the little ceramic thermal pad is fine.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

sry..didnt know there were different types of latches.... AMD fan..im guessing the heatsink is AMD too...processer is AMD 64 3000+.....and after i install my new processer and heatsink... i am not going to be messing with it at all...so im pretty sure i wont be overclocking it.
eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

You should just turn the lever and slide the latches off
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

with my mother board on its side...do u mean push down on the latch ?...cuz ive done this many times and nothing budges.
eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 10:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

the main black latch easily goes into the 'release' position. There are then 2 silver latches on either side. the side opposite the black lever is the easiest one to work with. There is a nifty little place to put a medium-small sized straight-edge screwdriver into. Push it out, and boom, the thing should slide off easily.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.