Trouble building my custom rig

Status
Not open for further replies.

megaerik00

Baseband Member
OK, here's what I got.

cpu
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
MoBo
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
psu
Newegg.com - HIPER HPU-4K580-MS ATX12V v2.2 580W Power Supply 100 - 120V - Retail
vga
Newegg.com - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
ram
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

This is only the second computer I've built, so I'm still a noob. I hooked it all up, but it will not POST. The case fans spins, I see some LED's, but nothing on the board seems to work. I got both power cables connected to the board, but still no luck. I reconfigured some things, and this time the HSF gets just a little juice, every 5-6 seconds when I hear a feint click. Is my board shot, or am I doing something wrong...or both?

Ive never built a computer, but from what your saying im guessing your boards dead. Try to return it to newegg, just tell them it was DOA.

as baron said it's the psu, not enough juice....
Note: These cards require PCI-E x16 slots, they will not function in a x8 slot so for SLi you need dual x16 mainboard. Finally 500W minimum for PSU and 600W+ is recommended. mentioned on a few uk retailers webbies

I dont think its the psu, on the grounds that the Hiper psu's are meant to be pretty good!? plus normally even if the gpu doesnt have enough power it will still boot into windows, it wouldnt normally just not work like that? hmmmm maybe im wrong here but this is just what i think from what you've said.

I hope you get it sorted