transistors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2007, 10:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default transistors

i was looking around on cpu world and i found out the core2 extreme chips have 521 million transistors, but the the new G92 gpu from nvidia is supposed to have 700 million transistors. is it just me of does it look like gpus are more powerful than cpus?
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: transistors

uhh long time ago, GDDR4 memory, you need like a 400w PSU to power one and the videocard proberly does the most work in the computer.
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: transistors

gpu always had more transistor, partly because they only process video
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: transistors

how exactly to transistors work? is it the code (i know, in binary) is transmitted through each transmitter via electrons, and if a line of code is false, it doesnt go to that transistor, or how does it work?
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: transistors

read this, thats only a general idea
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 07:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: transistors

yes, GPUs have always had more transistors that CPUs, and they do have more performance in terms of FLOPS, but only when rendering graphics, as they are a very specialised architecture designed specifically for rendering graphics.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 07:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: transistors

I thought the G92 would have more transistors than that, because doesn't the G80 have close to 700 million?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 07:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: transistors

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I thought the G92 would have more transistors than that, because doesn't the G80 have close to 700 million?
681M to be precise
joshd is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 09:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: transistors

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
read this, thats only a general idea
lol, rocket science to the extreme :P

but i really dont like the idea of having gfx on a expansion slot... i would like there to be another socket intergrated onto the board where you insert a gpu, then beside it some RAM slots... but again i don't work at intel or any other big semiconductor companies, do i? that would really speed up bandwidth, though.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 02:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: transistors

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
lol, rocket science to the extreme :P

but i really dont like the idea of having gfx on a expansion slot... i would like there to be another socket intergrated onto the board where you insert a gpu, then beside it some RAM slots... but again i don't work at intel or any other big semiconductor companies, do i? that would really speed up bandwidth, though.
well as far as bus talking to the gpu yes it would because it is more of a direct connection, but then it would have more latency talking to the graphics memory because it the must travel through the fsb. i think that its is faster the way it is now. and sense current cards aren't anywhere near to using the full bandwidth of pcix 16 then i don't think there is much to worry about for awhile.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Largest Performance Gain Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 79 05-22-2007 06:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.