Transferring internals from pre-built to custom made - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2013, 09:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Lightbulb Transferring internals from pre-built to custom made

Hey everyone.

My question is pretty simple: Somewhere down the road, in maybe a year or so when I decide to upgrade my desktop even more (i.e. new PSU), will I be able to take all of the internals in my current XPS 8300 and move them to a new, larger tower? Or will I have to buy at least a few new pieces? I read on a few other forums that I might have to replace a few things so I just wanted some input from here.

Thanks!
__________________

omardebs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Transferring internals from pre-built to custom made

These are the specs of my computer (can't make a signature yet):

Core i7 2600 3.4GHz Processor
16GB DDR3 Memory
1TB 7200RPM Hard Drive
1GB Nvidia GeForce GTX 650
Windows 8 Home Premium 64 bit
HP W2371d 23-inch LEDBacklit LCD Monitor
__________________

omardebs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Transferring internals from pre-built to custom made

As long as the motherboard / PSU have standard mounting holes for the screws, it should be fine.

Just have to match the form factor of the motherboard with the case (i.e. ATX, mATX, etc.).

Sometimes Dell uses proprietary stuff; they've stopped doing this with more recent stuff from what I can tell, but I know they used to have proprietary stuff that only worked in Dell cases.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Transferring internals from pre-built to custom made

IIRC you have a standard mATX motherboard in that machine. It should all swap over easy but the front panel probably wont be marked.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, custom, motherboard, psu, tower

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.