touchscreen - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2007, 09:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
KingAustin's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin

I've worked with touchscreens before. You can use either the mouse or your finger once you have it calibrated. I dont see why dual screens wont work, so that wont be a problem. Have fun wasting your money though as touchscreens are annoying after the first 5 min. They are only useful if they are a workstation for a cash register, such is the case at my dad's restaurant when I helped him set everything up.

I would never recommend a touch screen, but it's your money.

E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 03:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134

Originally posted by lancec2c30
no you cant run 2 different os at the same time that I know of. You would have to restart and boot into the other.
Actually lance it can be done. I believe its called a virtual machine, something of that nature, I have only read about it, never tried it myself, but its basically installing to operating systems. They are just on 2 different partitions, and the second OS functions as any other application would. By that I mean you have to open it up once your in windows, or what have you, and it will be in a window itself. I think it was Maximum PC that I read about it in.

NZXT Apollo
Gigabyte 965P-S3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Corsair DDR2 667 Value Ram-1 GB
SilverStone NT06
2x300GB Maxtor Hard drives
Sony DVD Burner
19\" Dell LCD Monitor
jared17 is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 05:05 AM   #13 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149

wow that touchscreen is nice but it isnt really what im looking for im looking for I more in the market for something like this

but with a slightly higher resolution and mounted within a metal casing thankyou for looking


p.s. Jared is right and its mainly used by developers so that they can test there programs on different operating systems without transferring machines. But as I said previously it is not dual operating systems bt the etra functionality provided within xp Mce

saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.