Too much HDD space? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2006, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default Too much HDD space?

Is it possible to have too much HDD space?

I want to put 3 x 300GB SATA (WD Caviar)

and I already have 1 x 120GB IDE (Barracuda)

Will that work?
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it'll work. Windows recognizes some odd number of terrabytes, so you shouldn't have any problems.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 76
Default

what do you need 1.2 terabytes of space for
(just curious)
__________________
Image wasn\'t showing, and the URL was stretching the forum layout. Please fix.
bigfatfrickinfa is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

sweet, thanks
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

It will work provided your case can fit that many HDs but I doubt you will need the space.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

you should put those 3 hdd's into a raid 5 set up that would be sweet
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

lol, i just realized what i did - I meant to type 2 x 300GB, but now I don't think I'll need that much...
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 76
Default

3x300gb +120gb sounded like alot and it made me jealous
__________________
Image wasn\'t showing, and the URL was stretching the forum layout. Please fix.
bigfatfrickinfa is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 02:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

lol... jealous of what? That money would've been well spent elsewhere.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 03:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 76
Default

jealous of 1.2 terabytes of space im im fine with my 250gig hd
__________________

__________________
Image wasn\'t showing, and the URL was stretching the forum layout. Please fix.
bigfatfrickinfa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.