Time to upgrade for orange box? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2007, 11:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

Well will the sata 2 hdd and sata 2 cable be backwards compatible to work with my sata I motherboard?
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

Yes I believe the drives will just be limited to only 1.5GB of bandwidth which is SATA 1. It does not matter since hard drives these days didn't really come close to maxing out SATA 1 I believe it was just better technology so they decided to use it...just how AGP worked.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 03:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

Went ahead and ordered parts.

My new setup with them:

Socket 939 AthlonX2 4200+ 2.2ghz
2gb DDR 400 (2x 1gb) CAS 2.5 -- GSKILL
80gb SATA I + 250gb SATA II HDD's
ATI x1950pro w/256mb vram
Windows XP Pro SP2


So how will this run HL2 episode 2, or even bioshock?
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

ul max out biochock cause i did.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

if you don't know if you can run it... why don't you just preorder orange box now, try out the TF2 beta and see if it runs well?
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 02:34 AM   #16 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
if you don't know if you can run it... why don't you just preorder orange box now, try out the TF2 beta and see if it runs well?
Im telling you people if you can run CS source well you can run TF2 decent. I'd say from my ridiculous calculations TF2 takes approx 33% more resources then CS source, since I take a 33% fps hit :P
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 08:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
ul max out biochock cause i did.
I disagree with this statement, granted you can run bioshock at max settings with the amd and 1950 setup, the fps won't really be decent enough ( 20 fps and below ). Bioshock is a really powerful and demanding game and if you want to run it at max settings with decent fps ( 40 and above ) it would take nothing less then a 8800 gtx and a core 2 duo or high end overclocked amd processor.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 08:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
Im telling you people if you can run CS source well you can run TF2 decent. I'd say from my ridiculous calculations TF2 takes approx 33% more resources then CS source, since I take a 33% fps hit :P
I apparently have a weird card, where my max FPS will always be around 80-100 and both games, CSS and TF2 both keep around 80-100 FPS 0_0
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 08:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
I apparently have a weird card, where my max FPS will always be around 80-100 and both games, CSS and TF2 both keep around 80-100 FPS 0_0
All of TF2 maps have HDR lighting while many CSS maps do not have HDR lighting. I only play dust2 ( no HDR lighting ) mostly for CSS and get an fps of around 160 average and get around 100ish FPS for TF2
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 08:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Time to upgrade for orange box?

on a side note thought we should get a tech forum TF2 team going on here since that game requires so much teamwork and thats impossible to get from strangers in a pub.
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Is it getting time for me to upgrade? Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 08-04-2007 02:23 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Upgrade time!!!! Static_11 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-20-2007 01:42 AM
Have some extra money, time to upgrade parts? Experts please advise King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-12-2007 08:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.