Is the time right to upgrade? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2008, 08:06 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

Well to be fair so do you...if he were to OC the cpu to 2.8-3.0ghz and get a better gpu that would be plenty sufficient as the GPU is really the most important thing in a gaming setup.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 11:31 AM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 42
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

The problem with picking up an intel processor is that my mobo only supports an amd processor. It's really not worth it to me to replace my whole mobo.

I am also quite weary around the whole subject of overclocking, to me it seems a bit dangerous and above my paygrade to overclock to extremes. Pushing my 4200+ an extra .6 ghz seems like a fairly big push in the clock speed. I also wanna stay away from any physical modding whatsoever. My computer runs pretty cool and I suppose it wouldn't hurt to just order some RAM and a new card and just try to overclock my processor. If it quits on me or doesn't go up as high as I please I can always pickup a new processor. But back to the physical modding... is it possible to overclock my CPU to 2.8 ghz without volt modding?
Basically my plan is to upgrade my computer now and have it last for another 2 years and then do a serious upgrade, or build from scratch a new computer in 2 years.
__________________

Xarulsis is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 12:02 PM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

i had a windsor 4200 and yes it will do 2.8 with no problem and no volt modding. you dont volt mod cpus, unless you have an old one you are willing to fry. you may raise the voltage in the bios, but you physically volt mod motherboards and gpus.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 01:53 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 42
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

Thanks for the information. I guess the only question I have left is which RAM to use. This is what I have been considering.
Newegg.com - A-DATA 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
The price is good, the reviews are very favorable, and I'm pretty certain it will work with my current RAM. Does anyone have any opinions on this choice? Thanks to everyone for the help thus far.
Xarulsis is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 01:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

mixing memory is not a good idea. You should get exactly the same kind as the set already installed.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 02:25 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 42
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

I finally found what memory I have installed.
Newegg.com - GeIL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
The problem is that I can't find it anywhere to purchase the RAM I need. Do I need to buy all new ram, or can I just mix ram with the same specs?
Xarulsis is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 03:55 PM   #27 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

as long as the voltage requirements are the same, they will be fine. you probably want to get the same timings as well (ie 5-5-5-15).
your geil says 1.8V - 2.2V, and the A-data is 1.8V so they will probably be fine. i have mixed ram before, but to be absolutely certain there will be no problems, then you should buy the same ram or all new.
a data has a 4gb set on newegg for like 80 bucks.
Newegg.com - A-DATA 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
and it comes with a free 2gb flash drive, yay!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 04:36 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

When you overclock you do not have to push the cpu to its limits. I could push my cpu a bit more but I choose not to because the little extra mhz would require more volts. But as long as I keep it where it is now it was a very quick and safe overclock.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 07:29 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is the time right to upgrade?

The RAM... its DDR2 800 @ 5-5-5-18... that's pretty bad..

Lower is better on those (well except the DDR2 clock speed)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Considering Upgrade, Have Questions Javelin New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-05-2008 03:34 PM
Giganews Specials for Time Warner, Sprint and Verizon customers Osiris ISP and Web Hosting 0 06-20-2008 12:44 AM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Time For An Upgrade Hugo82 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-28-2007 03:47 PM
upgrade to vista j3wcl@w Microsoft Windows and Software 23 03-30-2007 01:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.