Time for a new PC, but alittle confused... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 07:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default Time for a new PC, but alittle confused...

Alright well it is finally time to ditch my 1.8ghz HP laptop for a new Desktop PC. I am alittle confused about what kind of processor to get. I want to be able to handle very big intensive video files, as well as video games and image editing programs.

I know the Intel 2 Duo and the Pentium 4 are different, but which one is more powerful? I would want both processors to be around 3.4ghz, with that said which one would be the better buy?

Any suggestions would be cool. Thanks.
__________________

dbzj14 is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 07:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

pentium generation is out!! even though they got lower clock spped, core 2 is faster, but if u really want 3.4 ghz, overclock it! clock speeds don't matter much anymore! the core 2 duo is like amd processors, the clock spped sort of fools u!!!
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 08:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

as above, and why does it "have" to be 3.4ghz? thats silly, as the chap said above even though core2 duo isnt that high its still blistering fast and will handle anything you throw at it, heck even my AMD 4200 x2 at 2.2ghz does everything i want including high end games
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 07:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I was just thinking 3.4 because my 1.8 amd processor really stresses over flash made sites(spiderman 3, transformers), and when I play some games. It isnt that powerful, so I was just trying to aim for a bigger processor.

So you guys are saying that duo2core is the way to go?

What is the difference between the Intel Core 2 Duo and the Intel Pentium D Dual core?
dbzj14 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 07:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

were u asking b/c of games that require 3.0 ghz or better or something? like halo 2 when it comes out this year?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 05:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah like that, i didnt want to get a 2.2 if i needed 3.0. But i didnt know if these core2duo's could perform just as good as a 3.0.
dbzj14 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

A game that requires a 3ghz processor or more? are you pulling my leg
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I'm just askin if the 2.2 core2duo would perform at the same level as a 3.0.
dbzj14 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

better
Jrod is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 10:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

dbzj14, CPU's doesn't necessarily have increase in clock speed to increase in its performance. This was explained above. The Core 2 Duo's will complete a lot more instructions per clock cycle, therefore being a lot faster even though it has a lower clock speed than say the 3.0Ghz Pentium 4.
A Core 2 Duo at 2.2Ghz can most likely be overclocked to 3.0Ghz or more which would make them even faster again.
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.