This time I'm serious - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Default This time I'm serious

I really, really, really think I'm going to build this time. Price cuts are done everything is set.

DVD/CD Burner - Recycling Asus current
CD Burner - Recycling NEC current
Hard Drive - Recycling Samsung 160GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache current hard drive

Case - Newegg.com - Rosewill R6AR6-SL 0.8mm SECC 120mm Fan ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
It seems like everything I want. Good price point, smooth edges, nice and big, tons of flexibility, free shipping.

Mobo - Newegg.com - BIOSTAR NF520-A2 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 520 MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Again everything I want. Good price point, four DDR2 800 slots, pci-e x16 slot, good overclocker, will support future CPU's.

Video card - Newegg.com - EVGA 256-P2-N624-AR GeForce 7900GS 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 KO Video Card - Retail
Once again good price point, lots of performance @ that cost ratio.

PSU - Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX400-PN ATX12V 400W Power Supply 120/220 - 240v NEMKO, TUV, CSA, IEC, UL, CE - Retail
Cheap and efficient, supposedly good for budget build.

RAM - Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Just good RAM.

CPU - Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ Brisbane 2.1GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail
Good price, plan on OC'ing to 2.8ghz-ish.

CPU Cooler - Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail
I'm overclocking so its necessary.

How will this do with upcoming games in DX9 like Bioshock, Crysis, World in Conflict, etc.?
__________________

nylax4 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: This time I'm serious

If you really want to play DX10 games get an 8800gts 320 at least and upgrade your cpu to a quad core.
__________________

Paisan is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 01:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: This time I'm serious

well thats not entirely true, for the next year or so, u can play dx 10 games on ur dx 9 card... but ONE YEAR
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: This time I'm serious

At the moment, games play better on duos. Unless you do a lot of compiling or encoding the duo would be a better choice for gaming.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: This time I'm serious

The benchmarks show even the current games utilizing dx10 play better on the quads. And, all future games built on a the dx10 platform will perform decidedly better on the quads. For shear spead, yes the duos are better on traditional platforms, but they fall way short on anything taking advantage of all four cores.

So, if your focus is being able to play the future games get a quad. If you want pure speed for current gen games, get a duo.
Paisan is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 02:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: This time I'm serious

What's your budget? If you can spare some extra cash here are a few suggestions:

In any case I'd think long and hard about the motherboard and Video Card you are considering. The motherboard only has one PCI x16 slot and it isn't SLI enabled. The video card is going to soon be outdated too. I'd tell you to go with a Geforce 8600 GTS or better if you want to be able to keep this rig around for a while. You may also want to consider spending a bit more $$$ on a better CPU.
penguinshome is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: This time I'm serious

I doubt looking at his hardware choices that he will be willing to spend that much money on an SLI setup. You may want to look at the 8800gts 320mb and the DS3 motherboards to use on a duo/quad.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 02:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: This time I'm serious

SLI is a waste of cash. By the time you pay the extra for the sli board and the two vid cards, you have spent about the same money as getting one of the best vid cards currently available. by the time that card is outdated the technology will have changed.
Paisan is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 02:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: This time I'm serious

seriously... that board stinks.... might wanna get a tforce550 instead... and go OEM since u have a Aftermarket cooler, also i think u would save extra cash by getting the 3600+ Brisbane and overclock it manually to 2.2ghz, pretty easy since the 3600+ is at 1.9 ghz...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 02:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: This time I'm serious

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguinshome View Post
What's your budget? If you can spare some extra cash here are a few suggestions:

In any case I'd think long and hard about the motherboard and Video Card you are considering. The motherboard only has one PCI x16 slot and it isn't SLI enabled. The video card is going to soon be outdated too. I'd tell you to go with a Geforce 8600 GTS or better if you want to be able to keep this rig around for a while. You may also want to consider spending a bit more $$$ on a better CPU.
also i disagree that the 8600gts is better than the 7900gs, stick with that, and when u get more cash, u can upgrade to a Phenom in December and get a 9 series in January or so...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it getting time for me to upgrade? Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 08-04-2007 02:23 PM
Apple Fixes Serious QuickTime Bug Osiris Apple and Mac 1 05-30-2007 03:13 PM
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 09:11 PM
Serious, Serious Error..Urgent Help Needed! Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-08-2007 05:28 PM
Unique World's First Shipping Time Based Comparison Shopping pdqdeals Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-09-2007 04:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.