Thoughts on (Possible) set up. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2008, 05:05 AM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post

The ati 4870 is more powerful then the 9800gx2
Actually, 9800GX2 does outperform HD4870, it performs almost as good as GTX 280

You should check this thread
The Next-Gen Review Thread!

Also, I don't agree that 9800GTX+ is slower than HD4850
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 05:30 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

^hmmm, i heard a few things that it was faster some times and slower others. Also i had heard nothing about the performance of the 9800gtx+ except that it was minimal over the 9800gtx. I will correct myself, thank you .

Wait so it's like this?

280
9800gx2
4870
260
9800gtx+
4850
9800gtx
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 04:06 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
spigen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 168
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
^hmmm, i heard a few things that it was faster some times and slower others. Also i had heard nothing about the performance of the 9800gtx+ except that it was minimal over the 9800gtx. I will correct myself, thank you .

Wait so it's like this?

280
9800gx2
4870
260
9800gtx+
4850
9800gtx
-I'm pretty sure I'm going to go with the Q6600, doesn't seem like there is any reason to spend more, when you can over clock these chip to 3.0 - 3.5 Ghz.

- I'm still trying to make sense of all these graphic cards. If you had the choice: (2) 9800 Gx2 Quad Sli or (2) Ati HD 4870 Crossfire. which would you choose?

- also I was looking at Asus motherboards...and they have a ton. P5Q-E, P5E3 premium, M3A32, P5K deluxe, P5Q3 deluxe?

- fan vs. watercooling?



-Last I guess I could throw this out there. If you had 2000 dollars to build a computer what would your checkout cart look like?
spigen is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 04:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

Check out the P5Q Deluxe, the ones that say 3 in it have support for DDR3 only...

Q6600 is a good choice, it can go up to 3.8ghz on a good Air Cooler and some good overclocking skills

Go with HD 4870 Crossfire or 1 9800GX2 or 1 HD 4870X2 (this will be a true Dual-Core GPU unlike the rest out because it isn't Crossfire on one PCB like the rest out right now)

You really don't need a Quad-SLI or Quad-Crossfire unless you run at like 2560x1600

For 2k I'd get something along the lines of this:

Asus P5Q Deluxe
Q6600
HD 4870x2 or 4870 Crossfire Mode
640gb WD Drive
4gb of G-Skill DDR2 800 or that Patriot 2gb Viper
NZXT Tempest (surgevel sells these really cheaply here)
Corsair 650tx

Since you have the money to spare you could also consider a sound card or some sound system with a good Headphones
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 05:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
spigen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 168
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Check out the P5Q Deluxe, the ones that say 3 in it have support for DDR3 only...

Q6600 is a good choice, it can go up to 3.8ghz on a good Air Cooler and some good overclocking skills

Go with HD 4870 Crossfire or 1 9800GX2 or 1 HD 4870X2 (this will be a true Dual-Core GPU unlike the rest out because it isn't Crossfire on one PCB like the rest out right now)

You really don't need a Quad-SLI or Quad-Crossfire unless you run at like 2560x1600

For 2k I'd get something along the lines of this:

Asus P5Q Deluxe
Q6600
HD 4870x2 or 4870 Crossfire Mode
640gb WD Drive
4gb of G-Skill DDR2 800 or that Patriot 2gb Viper
NZXT Tempest (surgevel sells these really cheaply here)
Corsair 650tx

Since you have the money to spare you could also consider a sound card or some sound system with a good Headphones
-I was comparing (2) 4870's to (2) 9800 gx2's. not (4) 4870s.....I plan on buying one graphics card for know, and then in a month or so I will add another one. Just wondering which 2 together would be better, since they around the same price.

-And I plan on running the computer of either a 40" samsung LCD or 46". I think the largest resolution on the tv is 1900x by something.

-Whats your thoughts on the Antec 900, Coolermaster cosmos, and the Ultra Black Aluminus ATX.

-last i plan on running the sound through an audio receiver. so what type of sound card would me good.
spigen is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 06:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

I never mentioned 4 HD 4870's... By HD 4870 Crossfire I meant two of them..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 12:47 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
spigen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 168
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

how do you determine how big of a power supply to get?
spigen is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 08:06 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

Power supply's are measured, (correctly) by amps on the 12v rail, not watts.

If you want a more detailed explanation maybe someone will post it.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 12:41 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thoughts on (Possible) set up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redmo0n View Post
Power supply's are measured, (correctly) by amps on the 12v rail, not watts.

If you want a more detailed explanation maybe someone will post it.
Yep, if you want a truly detailed explanation, check out a 3dGameMan Review on any PSU
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I have Windows set to copy all files & folders including hidden & sys. files? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-19-2008 04:09 PM
Clone Hard Drive? peterhuang913 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 03-03-2008 01:12 AM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
automated windows task manager set priorities? akasixcon Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-24-2007 05:17 PM
Final Thoughts...... Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-10-2007 10:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.