Thoughts on this Configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2006, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Thoughts on this Configuration

Type ----- Name ----- Price ----- Rebate

Motherboard ----- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR ----- 171.99 ----- 15
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151

Ram ----- OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184 pin ----- 188 ----- 40
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210

Hardrive ----- Bought

CPU ----- AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ ----- 297
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

Graphics ----- eVGA Geforce 7900GT ----- 319
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130281

Sound ----- Onboard

CD Storage ----- Bought

Power ----- Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-500 500W ----- 68.99 ----- 20 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937

Case ----- Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA ----- 108.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133132

MSRP ----- 1153.97
Rebates ----- 75
Total ----- 1078.97

One of many configurations I’ve made for a computer I’m building. I’m using storage devices I already own for the build so there is no price listed for those items. Just want to see what you guys think of the build. Any comments are welcome. If you recommend I change a component, please explain why you think I should change it. thx
__________________

Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

I think it looks fine. Way better than my system.
__________________

fuz_master is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

everything is just dandy, the only two things i would do is downgrade the mobo to this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813136152 it's the same one as above just without sli...unless you were planing on adding another vid card latter. and then with the extra money, upgrade to this cpu http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16819103588

this is a case i would definentaly recomend http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16811129145
compy is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 09:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k downgrade to DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D, and dont upgrade ur CPU, its great, Upgrade ur ram to 2GB.

and bought is spelt b-ou-g-h-t, not baught.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 10:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

i don't think 2 gigs of ram is really even that nesicary.

changing the cpu all depends on weather or not you are going to oc.
compy is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 03:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

2gbs of RAM is necessary for BF2, but if you don't play it, then just get 1gb.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 04:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by compy
i don't think 2 gigs of ram is really even that nesicary.

changing the cpu all depends on weather or not you are going to oc.
its raining outside so he should get the fx60 ^_^


and all your newegg links were broken..


onboard sound = teh sux0r3z

at least get an audigy 2 zs

i have the audigy 2 zs platinum. very nice, i just wish the optical i/o were on the back but what can ya do?
The General is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 11:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

mobo http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

cpu http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588

case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129145


links that work now.
compy is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 04:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Thanks for the input guys. I hate mini tower cases cause there two small. As for the CPU I know nothing of over clocking, though I am very interested in it. Is the only difference between the two boards the SLI technology? I just want a board I won’t have to replace anytime soon. The ram is a typo, it should say “OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB)”, so it is actually 2 gigs. I also fixed the case link. Is the motherboard you suggested good for over clocking? And can my ram handle the over clock as well, if I get a op165?
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 11:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

yes the difference between the boards is the sli technology, and it will last you a long time.

you had the ram right, and i would say then just stick with the 2 gigs.

as for the cpu, how much do you wanna oc? if you're new to oc'ing i would say then just stick with the x2
__________________

compy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.