Thinking of upgrading to the 7950GX2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default Thinking of upgrading to the 7950GX2

The day I've long feared is here, the 7800GT is no longer enough for high settings at 1280x1024 resolution. After being used to high settings for so long, its hard to go back to medium and low settings. Therefore an upgrade is required.

Here's my PSU and mobo. I've read about problems with the 7950GX2 and some sytems. Will my system support it and is it a good move from the 7800GT?

PSU
-----
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104934

Motherboard
----------------
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136158


Will the 7950GX2 be guaranteed decent settings in UT2007 and Crysis at 1280x1024? If not I want to wait for a card that is. Should I wait and see the benchmarks on the 7950GT? Should I consider ATI even though I have an Nforce SLI board?

Thanks for any replies.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

get one X1900XT that is guranteed to have decent settings at UT2007 and will be less costy than 7950GX2, plus ATi is known to have better looking 'eye candies'.

-Jo
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Crysis at 1280x1024?
Crytek2 engine uses DX10 shaders which effectively makes all current cards obsolete and unable to run at the high settings you demand
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Crytek2 engine uses DX10 shaders which effectively makes all current cards obsolete and unable to run at the high settings you demand
Not unless he puts the game in directx 9 mode. you should be fine if you do that.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I can see a 7900gt running ut 07 at high settings, at high resolutions, with a 7950gx2, you'll have no problem.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn
I can see a 7900gt running ut 07 at high settings, at high resolutions, with a 7950gx2, you'll have no problem.
(Hate to hijack a thread here, but)

So a card like the 7900GT can run oblivion with all highest settings at 1280 x 1024? I just wanted to know because I am getting the BFG Tech Geforce 7900GT 512MB superclocked edition (the one that comes with a free copy of SiN Episodes: Emergence), and I want to run all of the latest games (TES IV: Oblivion, F.E.A.R, ect.) at highest settings, at least 1024 x 768 res, and all at a decent framerate.

If that card can't handle such a task, what card that is in the same price range will? I need to know for my new build. I can list other specs if needed.
__________________
You read my entire post, then read my sig? What tremendous effort! You win an internet!

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e1...rMessage-1.png

Here\'s a quote I saw once on a /b/ forum a while back, I think it\'s funny:

I\'ve been thinking of \"Heck\" lately. If it even exists, it\'s got to be a much nicer place than \"Heaven\". I mean... all the gay men are down there. You KNOW it\'s well decorated.

Note that I do not in any way condone homophobia or am in any way homophobic. I merely thought that it was clever.
Paul_Wall_117 is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 10:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Crytek2 engine uses DX10 shaders which effectively makes all current cards obsolete and unable to run at the high settings you demand
QFT
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 10:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
QFT
You can still play crysis at "full settings" but just not in directx 10 mode.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 10:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

7900GT is perfect for 1024x768.

So the 7950GX2 will cause no problems with my PSU or mobo?

Also, isn't Crysis as we've seen it only using DX9 shaders? At E3, it was running on a single X1900XTX, and I dont believe that is a DX10 card. Somebody else mentioned that running Crysis in DX10 will be like running Far Cry with HDR/SM3.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 10:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
7900GT is perfect for 1024x768.

So the 7950GX2 will cause no problems with my PSU or mobo?

Also, isn't Crysis as we've seen it only using DX9 shaders? At E3, it was running on a single X1900XTX, and I dont believe that is a DX10 card. Somebody else mentioned that running Crysis in DX10 will be like running Far Cry with HDR/SM3.
Isn't there a chance that the card could have been modified? I am not really tech-savvy, but I assume that they would have to have the appropriate technology to run it, and they could have modified the card...
__________________

__________________
You read my entire post, then read my sig? What tremendous effort! You win an internet!

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e1...rMessage-1.png

Here\'s a quote I saw once on a /b/ forum a while back, I think it\'s funny:

I\'ve been thinking of \"Heck\" lately. If it even exists, it\'s got to be a much nicer place than \"Heaven\". I mean... all the gay men are down there. You KNOW it\'s well decorated.

Note that I do not in any way condone homophobia or am in any way homophobic. I merely thought that it was clever.
Paul_Wall_117 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.