Thinking of upgrading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2008, 01:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Thinking of upgrading

Here are some parts I'm planning on getting in a few months. Hopefully prices will drop by then... tell me what you think

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom 9850 BLACK EDITION 2.5GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors
Newegg.com - ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows Vista 64-Bit Home Premium for System Builders Single Pack DVD - Operating Systems

a little later on maybe:

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GH-WIU02 3D Galaxy II Liquid Cooling - Water Cooling
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 04:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

Why not get Intel? or are you an AMD fan.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 Wolfdale 2.53GHz 3MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

A lot cheaper and better, the e7200 can hit 4.0ghz on air! You may want to consider a Q series though.

Also a tick on 64 bit vista
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 04:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

Get Q6600 with the motherboard that Redmo0n suggested

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

EDIT: I noticed that the new Intel P45 motherboards are out. I recommend one of these

Newegg.com - MSI P45 Neo-F LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
maroon1 is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

We don't know if those are buggy or not yet... wait for reviews before recommending those P45's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 11:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

I've always had AMD processors so I think that's why I'm leaning toward them. Why is the FSB so much slower on those boards that use Intel?
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 12:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

Because they don't have Integrated Memory controllers like AMD

but good stick with AMD, the Phenom 9850's have a good feature of unlocked Multipliers... also Dainius is selling his Phenom 9850
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 12:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

oh rly? I would love to buy it.

I'm selling a bunch of old parts listed on craigslist to chop some of the cost down of getting the new board and cpu. Also, do you think my PSU could power a phenom and that mainboard? I have a hx520w with 40a on the +12v rails
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

520w? thats not enough... do you know the exact name?

also that eVGA 590 does fail at recognizing Phenoms...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 12:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

i know, I'm getting that board I listed up at the top.
my PSU is a Corsair hx520w with 40amp 12v rails

If i go intel i'm looking at

Newegg.com - EVGA 122-CK-NF68-T1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

but I love AMD
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-11-2008, 12:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking of upgrading

Oh thats way more than enough for your rig....
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of upgrading to this video card CPonder14 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-27-2007 10:19 AM
Thinking of Upgrading video card or RAM info? Chrizah New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-30-2007 12:54 PM
Thinking of Upgrading. smileii New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-28-2007 08:22 PM
Thinking of upgrading wondering bout my old camera dwaynesox Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 10-03-2007 03:01 AM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.