Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2009, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard?

Was thinking of buying a q8200 since their on sale but they only come with a 7x multiplier and I would want at least 3.5ghz out of it. Problem is my current cpu won't go past 375fsb but I'm pretty sure thats the limit of the cpu and not the motherboard. Using a multiplier I have tested my ram to be good for at least 475 but thats just the ram and not the motherboard speed right?

IIRC abit ip35-E boards were known for hitting over 500fsb but I never could find anything on the ip35-V.

So anybody know how I could test the limits or know a average overclock for the ip35-v and q8200?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard?

The Q8200 is a joke. If it's any indication of the poor OC ability, check out this list:

THE OVERCLOCKING WORLD RECORD DATABASE

Almost all of those are with a P45 board.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard?

Yeah I wasn't expecting greatness but there are some air cooled q8200 chips at ~3.5ghz. Though it looks like I would also need a better cooler so I'll probably pass. But still anybody know about the max fsb thing? Only way I know how to find it is by using a lower multiplier and raise the fsb but my cpu hits a wall at ~375fsb...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard?

Best thing for you would be an old q6600 from a reliable person.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard?

The Q8200 are slow, they were supposed to replace the Q6600, but have half the cache and a real low multiplier. You're better off going with an Q9300/Q9400.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard?

my q9300 has a 7x multi and i can hit 500FSB on my board with 4GB of ram and i run it at 480FSB daily

but dont get the q8200, go for a q6600 at the least or if you can shell out a few more bucks then get a q9400.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard?

I wouldn't get a new Q6600, an older one would be great.

If you're will to spend that kind of money, grab the one veedub is selling here: 8800, gtx260s, cm690, 4870, 750i ftw, q6600, true

It has the g0 stepping, which is a lot better for OCing than the new ones.

Or you can grab a new Q9400. Either way.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Thinking of buying a q8200 but how can I find the max fsb of a motherboard?

Well I was only considering a quad because Microcenter had the q8200 for $99 at their B&M stores. I missed out on the deals they had on the q9300 and q6600. But I think I'll just wait for other deals to come by. Like maybe go cheap and get a e5xxx or e7xxx or maybe a better quad if its cheap. I really only need a small boost in cpu performance and my computer will basically be good for me for a good while.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Video At All! [ EVGA 790i Ultra SLI Motherboard. ] Oshikorosu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-31-2008 05:51 PM
How to find max voltage cpu can handle the_tai Overclocking and Modding 0 02-28-2008 01:46 AM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
Thinking of buying a x1950 pro dafydd_brown New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 11:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.