Thinking of buying a 7800GS but I have a problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2006, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default Thinking of buying a 7800GS but I have a problem...

My PSU is 350W and the minimum PSU requirements are 350W but the other stuff also needs power from the PSU? Will 350W be enough or will I have to upgrade?
__________________

Bullet-X2 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

you should really upgrade ur PSU, because if ur PSU is old, it most likely doesnt have dual rail, hence it wont have enough amparage.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default

Do you know of a Good PSU around 50 dollars that would do the trick? And how easy is it to replace an old PSU and get everything working without problems?
Bullet-X2 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Antec SmartPower
john3 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937

How's that one?
Bullet-X2 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

thumbs up
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 12:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default

Thanks
Bullet-X2 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 12:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default

your gfx card only uses like 100 watts, but 350 watt seems old, i had a 5 year old one and i got rid of it.
Travis18 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 03:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default

Ok but do you think 350W will be enough to run a

Athlon 64 3200+
1.5GB RAM

I have no sound card.

Because I don't wanna waste money on a new PSU I just need the 7800GS until the DX10 Cards and Vista come out.
__________________

Bullet-X2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.