Thinking about switching - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2008, 12:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
1337 ßtatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Oh man, I thought it was just a CAP@ 3.2GHz, but not because of voltage... That's lame! ._.

LoL, people probably get viruses from watching stuff they shouldn't watch.
__________________

1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 12:10 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Run CCleaner on the registry, and let it fix whatever is screwy..

Pr0n isn't the only way to get viruses though..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 06:47 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Alright, well I ran O&O Defrag and I am running NOD32 at the moment.

Any other suggestions while I am running this?



Also, I ordered my Q6600 in around august or even before that, I remember you (vernong) telling me the good batches were still around or something?
I'm not sure, how can I tell if I received one of the bad batches?
Grinchy is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 06:55 PM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Thinking about switching

if you can overclock it well, you have a good one .
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 06:59 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Default Re: Thinking about switching



Bad batch?
Grinchy is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 07:08 PM   #26 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Try overclocking to about 3.4ghz with 1.5 VCore.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 07:12 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Try overclocking to about 3.4ghz with 1.5 VCore.
Wouldn't you say thats a bit dangerous?

Hit a max of 46C Browsing the internet, so far.
Unless you don't think the temps will go up to much from 2.8 to 3.4?

Edit: 51C, NOD32 finished, no viruses.

Possibly think its really my really bad wire management?
Grinchy is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 10:51 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: Thinking about switching

I suggest wiring your computer better so there is more airflow, and take a air can to it, make sure everything is top notch, and it should run cooler.
Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 10:52 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grinchy View Post
Alright, well I ran O&O Defrag and I am running NOD32 at the moment.

Any other suggestions while I am running this?



Also, I ordered my Q6600 in around august or even before that, I remember you (vernong) telling me the good batches were still around or something?
I'm not sure, how can I tell if I received one of the bad batches?
Back in August it was like a 95% to 5% of Good to Bad, in September it starting going to heck

Did you try CCleaner
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 10:58 PM   #30 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenenbaum View Post
I suggest wiring your computer better so there is more airflow, and take a air can to it, make sure everything is top notch, and it should run cooler.
Tenebaum has a point. In my old case my GPU was always at 60 Degrees Celsius idle and even peaked at 90~100 some times. But after getting a bigger case with MUCH better air flow. My GPU is at 40 degrees Celsius idle now. Good airflow is beneficial if you plan to get some serious overclocks.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So I thinking about giving in.... ApolloIV Laptops and Notebooks 7 11-24-2008 07:38 PM
Any tips when switching out the mobo? Chad711 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-28-2008 04:21 PM
Thinking of switching to crossfire from sli veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 19 11-28-2007 11:52 AM
Thinking about an upgrade csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-30-2007 07:54 PM
Geting frustarted with computers thinking of switching what do you think? Mechtech3000 Technology Careers and Education 6 07-17-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.