Thinking about switching - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2008, 01:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Default Thinking about switching

From a q6600 to a E8400 or E8500.

I heard they are just better all around, I went on a friends system and it runs better then my q6600, and he has a e8400.


Rendering, video playback, and such, I noticed a increase in how fast it was compared to the q6600.

Whats everyones thoughts? And suggestions?
__________________

Grinchy is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 01:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Thinking about switching

It might be his graphics card that is making videos play better? Anyways, if you OC the Q6600 to like 3.2GHz, you will motice it'll be faster than a E8500. Plus you'll get to switch tasks a lot faster.
__________________

1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Default Re: Thinking about switching

He has a 4850, as do I.

Just browsing the internet, my Xigmatek and q6600 OC'd at 2.8 runs at about 43C

Do I have more room for OCing?

Whats the typical limit to watch for?
Grinchy is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Thinking about switching

oc that monster to like 3.6 if you have a ximagtech.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Thinking about switching

It seems silly to do what you are saying. Even seems silly to upgrade to a q6600 from an e8x00.

I suggest doing a software tuneup on your computer, spyware, registry fixing, defragging, etc.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronkupen View Post
It seems silly to do what you are saying. Even seems silly to upgrade to a q6600 from an e8x00.

I suggest doing a software tuneup on your computer, spyware, registry fixing, defragging, etc.

Any suggested programs, etc?

Edit: Whats a low limit temp for the q6600?
When should I know to stop? When it hits 50C?
Grinchy is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Thinking about switching

with all of those things on, and while playing games, you will still notice it's still fast. it's not that his HDD is clogged, but each core is lower than what the other 8400 is set to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grinchy View Post
Any suggested programs, etc?

Edit: Whats a low limit temp for the q6600?
When should I know to stop? When it hits 50C?
Umm.. is the 43 degrees from the earlier post idle, or load? If it's idle, then you should get better case fans, not the case, because it's must be pretty big to fit a s-1283.
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337_JohnN View Post
^^^ What you're saying is just plain dumb, no offense, with all of those things on, and while playing games, you will still notice it's still fast. it's not that his HDD is clogged, but each core is lower than what the other 8400 is set to.



Umm.. is the 43 degrees from the earlier post idle, or load? If it's idle, then you should get better case fans, not the case, because it's must be pretty big to fit a s-1283.
HWMonitor hit 48C on Core#2, OC'd at 2.8, just browsing the internet.

I thought I had the king of all cooling cases, NZXT Tempest

Any suggestions?
Grinchy is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grinchy View Post
HWMonitor hit 48C on Core#2, OC'd at 2.8, just browsing the internet.

I thought I had the king of all cooling cases, NZXT Tempest
May I bold the "not the case?"

I said your fans, because I don't think 43 degrees idle with a S-1283 isn't about right, with a good airflow. If you get something to blow the hot air away from the CPU cooler, and out of the case. MAybe you just need outtake fans.
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 119
Default Re: Thinking about switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337_JohnN View Post
May I bold the "not the case?"

I said your fans, because I don't think 43 degrees idle with a S-1283 isn't about right, with a good airflow. If you get something to blow the hot air away from the CPU cooler, and out of the case. MAybe you just need outtake fans.
I have 2 outtake fans, maybe I just need to take a duster to it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Actually q6600 can't clock for crap anymore
Any reason why vernong said that? (Was in another post)
__________________

Grinchy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So I thinking about giving in.... ApolloIV Laptops and Notebooks 7 11-24-2008 07:38 PM
Any tips when switching out the mobo? Chad711 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-28-2008 04:21 PM
Thinking of switching to crossfire from sli veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 19 11-28-2007 11:52 AM
Thinking about an upgrade csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-30-2007 07:54 PM
Geting frustarted with computers thinking of switching what do you think? Mechtech3000 Technology Careers and Education 6 07-17-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.