Thinking About More Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2007, 07:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Thinking About More Memory

With the price of the memory that I have, i have been thinking about getting 2 more GB. it is the Corsair XMS 2 memory in my sig.

My question is...I am not going to be going to Vista anytime soon.....so will I get the benefit from more memory if I am still using XP?

I have heard that it can not utilize 4GB ....Is this true?

What should I do? Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 08:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Thinking About More Memory

id save ur money. 4gb is overkill unless u use cad or editing programs
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 09:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Thinking About More Memory

You need a 64bit OS to utilise more than 3.2GB of memory.

As kobe said it doesnt help unless you are using CAD, 3D rendering or intense 2D stuff.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Thinking About More Memory

unless your a heavy gamer and using vista i wouldnt go for more then 2gb of ram
but your smart not going with vista right now, lol i get it for free (legally) and i still dont use it (shows you how bad it is)
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Thinking About More Memory

if your going to use vista it is worth otherwise don't bother. how did you get it free fade2black?
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking About More Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by fade2black2004 View Post
unless your a heavy gamer and using vista i wouldnt go for more then 2gb of ram
but your smart not going with vista right now, lol i get it for free (legally) and i still dont use it (shows you how bad it is)
lol nice one fade2black
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Thinking About More Memory

msdn gace my computer engineering class free keys for vista business
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Thinking About More Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by fade2black2004 View Post
msdn gace my computer engineering class free keys for vista business
yeah I got that same thing last year, msdn alliance thing. Being an engineer pays off

I have 4 gigs of memory in my rig, dual boot with vista 64 - I pretty much never boot into vista, its a hassle to use compared to XP.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 08:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Thinking About More Memory

i will say it once and say it agen. 4GB IS WAY OVERKILL FOR VISTA. i got 12g 3dmark with 2gb everygame runs great, how much ram do u want? if u havent used vista in detail dont say how much ram u need. i have been using it on my computer for ages and havent had any issues at all. 4gb of ram is just as much overkill in vista as is in xp!
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM
USB Flash Memory Drive Insectduel Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-19-2007 02:44 PM
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 01:46 PM
Need some help choosing memory before I buy today guitarplyrstevo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-02-2007 02:52 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.