Thinking about an HTPC.... - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 01:49 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

You wouldn't be able to run them through the pc for recording?

I would think you'd be able to input them in AV/HDMI/Coaxial/Whatever and record them...
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 02:10 PM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

well, it would be recorded from your tv and then it'd be a problem of having encrypted content (which digital cable is), so it might not be possible.

i don't pay for digital cable otherwise i would certainly want to mess around with it, because i'm sure there is a workaround... there always is!
__________________

fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:13 PM   #43 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

...it comes through as video...playing...

If you ran it straight from your cable box to your PC, there shouldn't be any encryption...
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:37 PM   #44 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Digital cable is encrypted, thats the reason you have to have a digital cable reciever. Now if you were to plug the cable from the wall into the computer, then into the digital box you should in theory be able to record whatever and still use your digital box.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:42 PM   #45 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Digital cable is encrypted, thats the reason you have to have a digital cable reciever. Now if you were to plug the cable from the wall into the computer, then into the digital box you should in theory be able to record whatever and still use your digital box.
cable from wall to digital cable box then out to the computer, you could record whatever you wanted.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:02 PM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
cable from wall to digital cable box then out to the computer, you could record whatever you wanted.
Yes that is true, but like I said 100 ****ing times, the only way to go from your cable box to your computer is through s-Video.
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:06 PM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumping_Bean514 View Post
Yes that is true, but like I said 100 ****ing times, the only way to go from your cable box to your computer is through s-Video.
If this is true, why do most capture cards have coax in. Not trying to start an argument, im just curious as i plan on turning my old machine into an htpc and have digital cable.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:31 PM   #48 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
If this is true, why do most capture cards have coax in. Not trying to start an argument, im just curious as i plan on turning my old machine into an htpc and have digital cable.
It just doesnt work like that. If anyone wants to show me evidence otherwise, than I would appreciate that becuase I myself want to do it. But as far as I know you can't.

"Second, if you have access to high-definition cable signals, PC TV tuners can't handle them. The only HD signals you'll be able to pull in are over-the-air broadcasts, for which you need a big antenna and an HD-capable TV tuner card. That means no HD HBO or Discovery Channel, so for most, this is hardly worth the effort. "

the review goes over all the brands of the nicest afordable tuner cards.

TV tuner card showdown - CNET reviews
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 04:53 PM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumping_Bean514 View Post
Yes that is true, but like I said 100 ****ing times, the only way to go from your cable box to your computer is through s-Video.
you're off track a bit here man.

Digital cable doesnt mean high definition.

coaxial from wall to cable box, coaxial out from cable box to tv tuner card - it will record what you're watching - it doesnt care. It might not be able to record the high def channels with the quality - or even at all, but it will record normal channels.

what digital cable allows is better encryption of channels so people cant steal them and the ability to have more channels.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:04 PM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
you're off track a bit here man.

Digital cable doesnt mean high definition.

coaxial from wall to cable box, coaxial out from cable box to tv tuner card - it will record what you're watching - it doesnt care. It might not be able to record the high def channels with the quality - or even at all, but it will record normal channels.

what digital cable allows is better encryption of channels so people cant steal them and the ability to have more channels.
I was referring to HD in that post, I guess I didn't make that clear. If you read the entire thread you would notice that since the very beginning. All I was trying to get across was the fact that you can't get HD signals out of your box to your computer, thats all.
__________________

__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a few parts for a HTPC straightv6 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-05-2007 07:29 PM
Geting frustarted with computers thinking of switching what do you think? Mechtech3000 Technology Careers and Education 6 07-17-2007 10:55 AM
Thinking About More Memory Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-02-2007 08:44 AM
tricking servers into thinking ur in the US El_Roberto Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-15-2007 04:12 PM
thinking of getting an lcd tv Ronnie New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-17-2007 02:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.