Thinking about an HTPC.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 07:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

I do get HD channels though...What about TV Tuner cards that are branded as HDTV tuners? Something maybe like this:
Newegg.com - AVerMedia MTVCBPCIW PCI-Express x1 Interface Video Device (White Box) - Retail
__________________

Goodonebales is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riznarf View Post
goodonebales, honestly, if you wanna throw some power down HTPC alley, you should opt for atleast 4gb of ram, and a qx6700. also, to ensure futureproofing, get the hddvd/bluray combo drives, (2 of them) to make sure everything can copy from one disc to another. that should set you up pretty good, atleast for the next.....2-3weeks.
it'd be silly to spend half of what all that costs on an HTPC.

you planning on using vista or XP MCE?
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Riznarf is just a troll, ignore him. All he does is try to get a response.

I'd prolly use a pentium D or a AMD x2 3600-4200 depending on a price, 1gb of ram, a cheaper, but decent video card, a DVD-RW drive and then invest the rest in HDs.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
Riznarf is just a troll, ignore him. All he does is try to get a response.

I'd prolly use a pentium D or a AMD x2 3600-4200 depending on a price, 1gb of ram, a cheaper, but decent video card, a DVD-RW drive and then invest the rest in HDs.
agreed.... an HTPC doesn't require that much power (talking about Riznarf's comment):

just enough to watch and store a lot of movies and access to a DVD-ROM/maybe a dvd-rw if u want it maybe a blu-ray drive when it becomes a cheaper
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 01:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goodonebales View Post
I do get HD channels though...What about TV Tuner cards that are branded as HDTV tuners? Something maybe like this:
Newegg.com - AVerMedia MTVCBPCIW PCI-Express x1 Interface Video Device (White Box) - Retail
If you look at that tuner, you will notice that the highest quality video input on it is the S-Video cable. It turns out that while S-Video is HD, its HD resolution is limited to 480i (I think it might do 576i, but that might be pal). So like I said before, you wont be able to get 720, or 1080 resolutions. HD branding is tricky like that...
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumping_Bean514 View Post
If you look at that tuner, you will notice that the highest quality video input on it is the S-Video cable. It turns out that while S-Video is HD, its HD resolution is limited to 480i (I think it might do 576i, but that might be pal). So like I said before, you wont be able to get 720, or 1080 resolutions. HD branding is tricky like that...
Wow, well, that's just a tad bit confusing. But why would I use the S-video inputs? Couldn't I just plug the cable line directly into the cable inputs? I'm still not getting this...I feel like there has to be a solution, otherwise HTPCs would never sell, ya know? Well, for HDTV, at least.
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Oh, and as far as the other questions, I'd probably plan on using XP MCE, although I'd rather use a Linux-based system or just XP with MCE-type programs, such as Myth-TV or whatever. I haven't really done enough research about those yet.
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

I'm glad this topic cropped up. I just built a new machine 2 weeks ago and have my old, still working amd 2800 with 1gb of ram machine sitting on the floor collecting dust. I might turn it into a htpc myself. Any suggestions as far as video capture cards go?
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 03:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

I'm turning a bunch of spare parts into an HTPC...using all my skt939 stuff.

AMD 64 3700+
Biostar Tforce939-6100 (awesome mobo)
1 gig Mushkin Redline XP4000
couple HD's that I had laying around till i buy a bigger one
got Ultra's version of the Aspire Q-pack for 39.99 after rebate (came with a 400W psu that is working well so far)
Lite-on DVD writer

I'm considering this guy right here (remote looks quality):
VL System M-Play Blast - 5.25" Black w/ Blue VFD
-or this right here-
Thermaltake Media Lab Control Panel w/ Remote - Black

Still gotta figure out the video card, video capture card and OS.
I have Vista business, Vista Business 64, and MCE and am still considering between those.

Wish there was a good HD tuner/capture/decoder card out there.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 04:03 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thinking about an HTPC....

Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
I'm turning a bunch of spare parts into an HTPC...using all my skt939 stuff.

AMD 64 3700+
Biostar Tforce939-6100 (awesome mobo)
1 gig Mushkin Redline XP4000
couple HD's that I had laying around till i buy a bigger one
got Ultra's version of the Aspire Q-pack for 39.99 after rebate (came with a 400W psu that is working well so far)
Lite-on DVD writer

I'm considering this guy right here (remote looks quality):
VL System M-Play Blast - 5.25" Black w/ Blue VFD
-or this right here-
Thermaltake Media Lab Control Panel w/ Remote - Black

Still gotta figure out the video card, video capture card and OS.
I have Vista business, Vista Business 64, and MCE and am still considering between those.

Wish there was a good HD tuner/capture/decoder card out there.
thats a great idea, i'm gonna turn my system into an HTPC, some1 should write a guide callled "Turning Your Old Useless System into an HTPC"
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a few parts for a HTPC straightv6 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-05-2007 07:29 PM
Geting frustarted with computers thinking of switching what do you think? Mechtech3000 Technology Careers and Education 6 07-17-2007 10:55 AM
Thinking About More Memory Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-02-2007 08:44 AM
tricking servers into thinking ur in the US El_Roberto Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-15-2007 04:12 PM
thinking of getting an lcd tv Ronnie New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-17-2007 02:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.