Which of these graphics cards? (Nvidia Geforce7800GT) also:suggestios on AMDprocessor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2006, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default Which of these graphics cards? (Nvidia Geforce7800GT) also:suggestios on AMDprocessor

Hi Everybody,
I'm in the process of gradually upgrading my computer to be able to play games like BF2 and such.
I think i've setteled on the DFI LanParty UT nF4-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard for a Motherboard (open to suggestions ) and totally unsure on CPU but i'm going between these 2 Graphics cards. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=48 After rebates they're $4 apart in price so it's basicly down to specs but i'm not sure. It looks like the evga one is the one to go with but I wan'ted to ask around to the people who really know they're way around in this stuff.

Also, any input on Mobo or CPU appreiciated
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Go with the evga it 45/70 mhz faster ... I own it and it has never failed to play any game on max settings.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Awesome mobo. Go with the eVGA it faster and its a eVGA (thats all that matters ). Since your going with a DFI, im assuming you want to overclock in the future. I would then go with an opteron (buy one off ebay with a good stepping becuase the warranty is void if an opty is used on a DFI). You could also try a 3700+ but those are abit more dependant on luck for a good OCer.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 06:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

evga all the way, dfi is great, and go with a AMD 3500+ thats what i have in my DFI
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 07:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Go with the eVGA, they have a good warranty and a step-up program.

Also, get a 3700+ instead of a 3500+ because 3700+ has an 1MB L2 cache as opposed to a 512MB L2 cache.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 07:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

OK, i've decided on the graphics card (evga) and am pretty confiden't on the Mobo.

As of right now, i 1) don't know how to overclock and 2) don't have the ram to overclock so in the near future i don't intend to be overclocking.

Also, i'd like to put price as a large factor in the CPU so i'd like to get as much "bang for my buck" without sacrificing too much preformance.

Thanks for all the input so far!
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Here is a nice overview of overclocking your CPU: http://www.basichardware.com/overclocking.html
When looking for RAM ValueRAM is hardly overclockable, so don't get the lowest on the RAM if you want it to overclock really well. Find some G. Skill or OCZ.

As far as a processor goes, if you want to "future-proof" your comp, then fork out some cash for a dual core CPU. As those become more and more utilized you'll get your "get you money back".
__________________
<img src=\"http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/5283/tfsig25hj.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Electric Shock Is For Losers\" />

<img src=\"http://img472.imageshack.us/img472/1782/userbars6jt.gif\" border=\"0\" width=\"350\" alt=\"Userbars by me, PM if you want me to make you some. =D\" />
ESIFL is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

dude i was reading the thread and i saw your sig dude way too big
468 x 120 if i remember right
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

OK, after some research i think i like the looks of the AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 1GHz FSB 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939 . Combination of price and preformance. What do you think?
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Default

i was thinking of gettin the san diego at first too, but i went dual core...
that cpu should be great though!
__________________

__________________
system specs~
amd 165 opteron x2
evga 6600GT 256mb pci-e
2g corsair xms dual channel
asus a8n-e ultra atx
samsung 40g 7200rpm sata 3.0g/s
asus combo drive
antec true blue 480w psu
cheiftek ultra dragon full atx with (side window panel)
dRgreen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.