Thermal Paste Already Applied? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2008, 06:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Thermal Paste Already Applied?

I have just purchased a Q6600 retail (Scan Computers UK: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 SLACR, Kentsfield Core, Socket 775, 2.40 GHz 1066MHz 8MB Cache, Retail). And was wondering will the thermal paste already be applied?

Was thinking of getting some arctic silver 5 to apply to it. (Is this any good?) And if its already applied (being retail) what would be the best solution to remove it?

Final question before I go ahead and build, finally! I must of asked a dozen questions about building pc. (cheers for all the help lads)

Cheers

- Will
__________________

Method is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 06:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

yes it will have pre applied mx-2.

No don't get arctic silver 5, as it isn't as good as mx-2. Get tx-2.

The best way to remove thermal paste is a coffee filter and alcohol of 91% purity or higher.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

So the pre applied stuff is much better than the Arctic Silver 5 I can buy? Will the pre applied stuff be good enough for leaving the CPU at stock settings.?
Method is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

^it's not a ton better but it is better. For stock settings yes, the pre applied paste is perfectly fine.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

Cool, thats all I needed to know. Cheers mate.
Method is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 10:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

do you really absolutely need to do the coffee filter stuff? i usually wipe mine off with a papertowel and it seems fine lol
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 10:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

^ideally you want the heat sink and cpu to be as clean as possible.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 10:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
^ideally you want the heat sink and cpu to be as clean as possible.
meh..i think it's overkill. Just like lapping, thermal paste is made to fill in the gaps and to increase the heat that's taken away....i'm sure flattening out the surface doesn't help that much.
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 10:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

^in fact it does help a good bit.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 11:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Thermal Paste Already Applied?

how much does it actually help? i'm sure it can't be more than 5-10C
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best technique for applying thermal paste? Mordred Overclocking and Modding 14 01-29-2008 01:39 PM
How do I put on thermal paste? aetherh4cker System Upgrades 2 01-06-2008 12:12 AM
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.