Thermal Paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2007, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 77
Default Thermal Paste

Idk if this is the right place to post this, but i was wondering how important thermal paste was when applying it to your CPU, and motherboard?
__________________

Nazgul is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thermal Paste

very important...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Thermal Paste

you don't apply to the mobo just the cpu
its necessary and getting high performance over stock can get you a few lower degrees
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Kj°len's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Default Re: Thermal Paste

Extremely important. You want to make sure you apply it correctly, too, using a clean flat-surface object much like the credit-card shaped object that comes with some thermal paste tubes. Spread it on with that, making sure that all previous paste is thoroughly cleaned off with some sort rubbing alcohol and Q-tips.A very thin layer is best, enough to just cover the entire metal surface on top of the die. Smooth it out, too. Fingerprints and unevenly spread glue can create an improper bond between the heatsink and the die. Make sure the bottom of the heatsink is clean, too.

Lastly, if you want to trade easiness for efficiency, good thermal paste like Arctic Silver brand paste will maximize the heat dissipation between the die and the heatsink.
Kj°len is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Thermal Paste

What about the thermal paste already on a AF7? Should I wipe that off right away, or use it?
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Thermal Paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
What about the thermal paste already on a AF7? Should I wipe that off right away, or use it?
no, AF7, has MX-2, its one of the best thermal spreads out there, and you don't have to hassler applying it its already done for you lol.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thermal Paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL View Post
no, AF7, has MX-2, its one of the best thermal spreads out there, and you don't have to hassler applying it its already done for you lol.
actually the Thermal Pad has MX-1 lol
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Thermal Paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
actually the Thermal Pad has MX-1 lol
They upgraded it to MX2.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 12:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Thermal Paste

Oh, I heard now it comes with MX-2.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 12:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thermal Paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
They upgraded it to MX2.
they did?? cool, my bad...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this pre-applied thermal paste? Brinson System Upgrades 4 12-28-2007 11:54 PM
OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset! imconfused Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 11-26-2007 08:21 PM
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.