Thermal paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 04:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Thermal paste

when applying arctic silver 5 onto the cpu, does the paste have to cover every inch of the cpu? or can there be a few bit gaps left open?
__________________

Acentric is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Thermal paste

No. Adding too much could be bad.

Follow the instructions on AS's website.

Arctic Silver Incorporated - Route to Product Instructions for Arctic Silver 5

Click the radio buttons according to your CPU.
__________________

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Thermal paste

hmm... ill just clean it and re apply the paste just to be on the save side, but what im asking is when i apply the paste, does it have to cover the whole cpu... not leaving gaps is what im trying to say.
Acentric is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Thermal paste

No. For single cores a drop in the middle will do fine.

For Duo Cores, a line down the middle (make sure you apply the line in the right way) will be fine.

Anymore and you could inhibit the conductivity.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Thermal paste

so as long as i dont turn it on ill be fine by cleaning it tomorrow? and by the way, i havnt turned it on at all.
Acentric is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 05:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xXDuskXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: Thermal paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by dashogun View Post
For Duo Cores, a line down the middle (make sure you apply the line in the right way) will be fine.

it's dual core, not duo core
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v401/Degeta/ra.jpg

the blood drive is a pyramid scheme perpetrated by dracula and his night slaves
xXDuskXx is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Thermal paste

well i cleaned the cpu and readded the right amount of thermal paste, when i was placing the cpu back in, i think i touched the pins on the cpu socket a bit, will that mess it up or am i ok?
Acentric is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Thermal paste

anyone know? this is driving me nuts
Acentric is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 09:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Thermal paste

Not at all, just don't get any thermal paste on the pins.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 10:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Thermal paste

thanks quazi
__________________

Acentric is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM
Read if you don't know much about thermal paste. QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 1 08-02-2007 02:09 AM
quick question about thermal paste, please reply ASAP thanks. Snake64_009 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-05-2007 11:21 AM
cpu thermal paste... advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 06-29-2007 11:40 AM
Thermal Paste? NathanLedet New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-30-2007 10:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.