thermal paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2007, 02:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 151
Question thermal paste

my e6600 didnt come with any. My friend said that it came with his amd processor. in the instruckions for my intell chip it doesnt say anything about thermal past. so do intels dual core not need any or do i need to try and find some elsewhere?
__________________

Izzjess is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Post link to one you bought.

If its OEM it wouldn't come with a heatsink or Paste.
If its retail it should come with a heatsink and Paste pre applied.

And all Procs require Some type of thermal paste or pad.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 151
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003

here it is and its retail
Izzjess is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

The heatsink should come with it under the bottom.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 151
Default

well i dont see any but of course i havnt fully opened the plastic yet im just looking at through the plastic
Izzjess is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

All you gotta do is look. Its pre applied Like I said. Opening it helps....

BUt if you want to overclock it and overclock it well youll want an aftermarket heatsink with some artic silver 5.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 151
Default

ok thanks guys---- pre applied -- i like that
Izzjess is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 09:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

yep makes it easier. are you planning to oc?
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.