Thermal Pad or Artic Silver 5? Did I mess Up? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2006, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default Thermal Pad or Artic Silver 5? Did I mess Up?

I just watched this video "Thermal Pad or Paste?"

http://www.nforcershq.com/article92.html

It says that thermal pads are better for long term use, that thermal grease spreads out over time.

I just installed my Zalman 9500, and used Artic Silver 5. I put about a pea sized amount on and spread it around. Do you think I'll be fine?
__________________

Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Paste is better, and AS5 happens to be the best. However you should not have spread it around. You should not have even touched it.

The way you apply AS5 is you put a dab about the size of a grain of rice in the center of the CPU and then put the HSF on top of it. Once you put the HSF on do not let it break the seal with the AS5 or you have to redo it.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

**** I put way more than a grain of rice. I had seran wrap covering my fingers.
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Arctic silver is what most people use and get the best results with. So yes, youll be fine.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

You dont think too much will be bad in the short or long run? How much is good?
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

if you use too much it will just be more difficult to remove.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Will it be obvious when I turn on my computer and monitor the temps?
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 07:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Using to much will raise your temperatures. You want to use as little as possible.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 08:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Paste is better, and AS5 happens to be the best. However you should not have spread it around. You should not have even touched it.
The way you apply AS5 is you put a dab about the size of a grain of rice in the center of the CPU and then put the HSF on top of it. Once you put the HSF on do not let it break the seal with the AS5 or you have to redo it.
I don't completely agree with this statement.

I've always used a pea sized drop of AS5, then used a credit card to "mason" a very thin layer across the top of the IHS. I spread it very thin so it's about the thickness of a piece of paper.

Then I carefully install the HS and do follow your rule of not breaking the seal.

Thermal Paste is not as technically as everyone makes it out to be.
It's simply used to fill "air gaps & surface inperfections" between the IHS and HS, to increase dissipation.

Of course too much is not good and not enough is not good. Put normally anywhere between and grain of cooked rice and a pea, is usually fine.

As long as the paste makes a tight thin seal, it's fine.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 08:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

... yeah, either way spreading it or just letting it spread itself is fin

but when u spread it your self u are more prone to put to much or not spread it evenly, this is most people just put a little in the middle
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.