Is there something wrong with my... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 11:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default Is there something wrong with my...

MY motherboard or my PSU? when i try to shut down the computer sometimes it just seems like it ignored my command, and sometimes all the programs at the bottom right corner of the screen closes but it wont shut down. and i have my fan at the back plugged in but its not turning, it was yesterday but now i look at it its not spinning.. someething tells me my psu isn't giving enough power? or my motherboard isnt functioning properly, but other then these things thers nothing else wrong. when i shut down now i usually have to go to "switch user" then shut down from there. my psu is antec truepower II 480w and im SURE its enough to power my computer cause my computer is like mid range not high end.. but i dunoo..anyone know how to fix this problem?
__________________

__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Sounds like a windows problem. There's probably a virus or something. Honestly when I get a problem like that, I look around for 5-10 minutes and then give up and reformat. It's a lot easier that way.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

serisouly? i just got this comp like 4 days ago... cant be a virus.. ima scan with AVG right now
__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You should run hijack this to see if there are any suspicious entries.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

of course there can be a virus, especially since the computer is new and you only have 1 antivirus program, right when you run windows and have an internet connectoin you are bombarded like a crazy, i remember when i reformatted, then after i installed all my antivirus stuff i had to get rid of like 100 trojans alone. i have AVG, Avast Pro, Sygate FIrewall PRO, and Spyware Doctor, AND McAfee Security Centre, and my computer has had no problem with spyware, trojans, viruses, intruders for 3 months straight, not one.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

If your using only one free program then there are a lot of cracks to be slipped through.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

i have AVG and Ad-Aware/Ad-Watch. is that enough or what else should i get.
__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Zone alarm.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 12:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

AVG free + Zone alarm free + spybot search and destroy is all i need. i have no problems at all. spybot very rarely picks anything up.
joshd is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 01:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

you should also have a good firewall, i suggest Sygate Pro, its very good, havent had any problems with it. AVG, Avast! home edition is free but i suggest the Pro edition, and Spyware Doctor is really good.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.