is there a remote? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default is there a remote?

On my keyboard, I have all the "media" buttons (play, pause, next track, stop, previous track, volume, and mute) So I was wondering, since I'm not always at my computer, but my music is usually playing, is there some kind of remote I could have, that had those buttons on it? Anyone know if anyone makes anything like that?
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I dont think so, but lets see what the other members say.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

There is the MCE remote that has all of those functions, but I am not positive about its compatiblity if you do not have MCE. However, I use Media Portal sometimes as well, and I know the remote works with that.

Edit: Here's a link http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...ct_Code=270034
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

theres something you can buy as a add on with microsoft meida center
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

I don't have MCE, but how about this:

http://www.keyspan.com/products/usb/urm17a/
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

ATI makes a remote called. "Remote Wonder II"

I've got one and it works really well with Winamp & Windows Media Player. It also obviously works with all ATI media players.

There are also several plugins available to allow it to work with other programs too. This is the cheapiest solution.

Here is the ultimate website for all remotes... There are plenty listed here with full reviews, many can be used with PC's.
http://www.remotecentral.com/remotes.htm

Ranging from $30 to $1000

Good Luck!

P.S if you do get a remote for your PC, there are special X10 USB drivers that you must install inorder to get the remote to work.
PM me if you need help locating them.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

i got a sound blaster audigy 2 NX (the external one) that comes with a decent remote that works with the creative stuff, media player and powerdvd. might be worth looking into
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.