There has got to be something wrong with my system! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2007, 05:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

Also, when I applied the Arctic Silver 5, I think I may have put more than I needed.

OC'ed right now at the settings on my sig and temp right now on Everest are:

Motherboard: 42
CPU: 43
Core 1: 54
Core 2: 57
Core 3: 51
Core 4: 55

So not sure if its about right, but if the mobo is about the same temp at idle as the CPU, I think its fine isn't it? Or do I have to reseat it again? Ill give it a few days, two to three weeks maybe or even a month and see if I see any difference. If not, I might Order a new heatsink or something. I hear that the Tuniq Tower 120 does not like the Quad Processors.

But full load temps havent gone over 62.2*C yet, so I think ill be fine considering that I just reseated it.

One last question, is the 62. 2*C temperature the for the CPU temp or the Core temps? Cuz my core temps are around 10*C higher than my CPU temps.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 05:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

check the AS5 website, you are supposed to use a small line going accross the cores. CPU temp is pretty useless, you just want to make sure your core temps dont go past 61C.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 06:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

What? I thought make sure the CPU temp doesnt go past 62C

Hm.... my CPU temp goes to 60C and the Core temps are around 10~15C higher than the CPU temp.

That cant be right. I applied it differently from what the website says.

I put a pea size paste in the middle, put my heatsink on and then twisted it like b1gapl said.

Anyway, at full load my temps are like this......



Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!
Also, when I applied the Arctic Silver 5, I think I may have put more than I needed.

OC'ed right now at the settings on my sig and temp right now on Everest are:

Motherboard: 42
CPU: 60
Core 1: 75
Core 2: 74
Core 3: 71
Core 4: 74
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 06:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

Holy crap. More problems.

Just put some thermal paste on the dam'd thing and run it at stock speeds then.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 06:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

If your cores are hitting 70+ and its not a G0 you are getting some serious throttling due to the heat.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 06:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

Hm. okay I just reseated it again! when I took it out, there was too much paste on the heatsink and the cpu, it was all over the place. So I did the instructions from Arctic's website, then twisted it. Took the heatsink off after twisting it to see how much paste I put on, it was a bit too much too, so I wiped the paste from the heatsink and then put it back on, then twisted it again. It didnt seem like it would stick at all. Maybe it was too little paste.

So anyway, I ran out of alcohol wipes and just kept it that way so now im booted.

And temp in the BIOS is 45C

Right now I think its just about the same temp as it was before I reseated it again.

So maybe its as good as it gets?

Grrr, im done reseating it for today. I reseated it twice already and used the Arctic Silver 5 twice too.

Im out of alcohol wipes, so I cant reseat it anymore not untill I get more wipes sad.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
If your cores are hitting 70+ and its not a G0 you are getting some serious throttling due to the heat.
Whats "Throttling"
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

waht cpu-cooler do you have?
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

dude holy crap pinoy..have we figured it out?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

I dont know, lolz. Im running it at stock right now and heres the temps right now with AC on btw. So my room temp is freezing.

Everest readings...

Mobo: 36
CPU: 35
Core 1: 45
Core 2: 45
Core 3: 43
Core 4: 45

Stock settings and idle, not doing anything. Kinda high. Hopefully it will be like the one below when the Arctic Silver 5 is fully cured....

CPU: 30
Core 1: 40
Core 2: 40
Core 3: 40
Core 4: 40

Hope it will be like that or lower.

Edit: Im gonna be redoing my wiring in my case. Going to wrap them with Electrical Tape. I did it on the wire for the Fan on the TT120 already. It looked better. Kinda time consuming though. But well worth it. Cheap way to organize the wires together
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.