There has got to be something wrong with my system! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2007, 12:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default There has got to be something wrong with my system!

Hm...... Load Temp - Idle Temp should not equal to greater than 10*C correct?

Well, take a look.

Idle: Temperature in Celcius
Motherboard: 38
CPU: 45
CPU1: 55
CPU2: 57
CPU3: 52
CPU4: 52

But watch what happens when I run 4 Orthos, one on each core, look at the temps go up. I am running at stock speeds BTW.




I added 15C on SpeedFan on the Configuration place so it reads the same as Everest.

Thats running for only 1 minute and temps gone up over 25C just on the CPU alone! From 45C to 71C, just imagine if I ran it for 6 hours, my CPU would be dead.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 01:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

idle-load difference should be in that area yes, but it could be more than 10* celcius.
i think you should send your cpu back and see if you get one that runs a little cooler. and save yourself some worry, dude.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

I think pinoy is going to pop a blood vessel soon. You never do mention how hot it is in your room. If ambient temps are way up so will the cpu temps. BTW, 100% load is in no way any indication of what the computer is going to run at in normal day to day use.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

So it could be the CPU is bad or my thermalpaste?

Grrr, im really mad.

My room temp is only 72C
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

the only time i have ever used my computer 100% was when i was running orthos lol. all the other time i run it, its nowhere near full usage.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

Ok phew. Thank god!!!!!

I just reseated it, I bought Arctic Silver 5 from a local Radio Shack, it was the Thermaltake Brand Arctic Silver 5.

I reseated it!!!!

When i took out my heatsink, wow, the thermalpaste was only touching the sides!!!!

There was no thermalpaste on the center at all, just a line on the corner thats it!!!

Good thing I reseated it. So I applied the Arctic Silver 5 in the center of the CPU and then twisted it. I applied just about the size of a pea. not rice.

so ye, I just booted it, looked at the BIOS, temp is 37C.

Thats way better than 45C.

Phew. Lets test this out and see what the temp is on load. See, the temp dropped! And it hasnt even cured yet, so at stock it should be around 35C then right? idle.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

So the temp on full load for 2 minutes is 53C on the CPU, from 38C idle, so thats about right, 15C difference which is ok. Not 10C but it hasnt cure yet

Hopefully i didnt apply too much paste though.

But hey, 53C is better than 75C!

So ye, thank goodness.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 05:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

Pinoy needs this cpu NASA Develops Extreme Heat-resistant Computer Chips
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 05:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Question Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

wtf at stock my cpu runs 22c idle 48c load?? at 2.1 (e6300) its 27c idle 52c load
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 05:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: There has got to be something wrong with my system!

Um.. you have E6300, I have a Q6600, and it runs at 105 Watts, not 65 Wats like urs.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.