Thanks FRYS! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2007, 07:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

Have fun with an RMA if you have to RMA it though xD.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 07:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

CPU-Z also says x4 with a max of x16 supported. What gives?
__________________

__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 07:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

update ur driver is all i can suggest.........n an RMA could help if nothing else works.

how long do u got to do an RMA because u cant do one anymore?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 08:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

I think I just figured it out. This is my mobo:

Gateway Support - Main View

I put the video card into the bottom of the two PCI-E slots, and when you click on the little bubble explanation thing it says:

"This is the PCI Express ×4 connector on the motherboard. It has an ×16 connector so that it can be used for graphics add-in cards."

So does this mean that it's a fixed speed? I guess I gotta switch everything around now and put the card on the top PCI-E slot that is actually x16 speed.

Whats the purpose of a x4 slot?
__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 08:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewser View Post
I think I just figured it out. This is my mobo:

Gateway Support - Main View

I put the video card into the bottom of the two PCI-E slots, and when you click on the little bubble explanation thing it says:

"This is the PCI Express ×4 connector on the motherboard. It has an ×16 connector so that it can be used for graphics add-in cards."

So does this mean that it's a fixed speed? I guess I gotta switch everything around now and put the card on the top PCI-E slot that is actually x16 speed.

Whats the purpose of a x4 slot?
^OMG, no wonder... the second PCI-E slot is for other things, like a PhysX card and other PCI-E cards.
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 08:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

Ya, my SLI board is similar.. if I plug anything into the bottom PCI-E slot everything runs at 8x versus 16x.

And no one tell me there is no difference between 8x and 16x. Because I ran the COH benchmark at 8 times then at 16. I gained 11 more fps.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 08:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 330
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

do those PCI fans help alot?
__________________
CPU: e6320 W/ Zalman CNPS9700 @ 2.8
MOBO: MSI P6N PLATINUM
RAM: 2gigs G. Skill HZs
VID: EVGA 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1025
CASE: NZXT ZERO
HD: WD1600YS
PS: CORSAIR 520HX
MONITOR: CHIMEI 22in
OS: VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32bit
nerdygeek is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 08:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

i have a pci slot fan....it was like $3 for 30 cfm 90mm one so i went for it
and it blows right on vid card
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 09:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewser View Post
I think I just figured it out. This is my mobo:

Gateway Support - Main View

I put the video card into the bottom of the two PCI-E slots, and when you click on the little bubble explanation thing it says:

"This is the PCI Express ×4 connector on the motherboard. It has an ×16 connector so that it can be used for graphics add-in cards."

So does this mean that it's a fixed speed? I guess I gotta switch everything around now and put the card on the top PCI-E slot that is actually x16 speed.

Whats the purpose of a x4 slot?
there's your problem
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 09:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: Thanks FRYS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdygeek View Post
do those PCI fans help alot?
I just got the card in today and haven't compared temps with and without the PCI slot fan, but I figure it helps overall, plut, it takes up a useless empty PCI slot. Now I gotta go and switch everything around and put my 8800GT in the x16 slot now. Stupid motherboard.
__________________

__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anybody's 8800GT order from FRY's shipped yet? Drewser New Systems | Building and Buying 33 11-01-2007 05:24 PM
Fry's deals Nukem Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 08-21-2007 05:32 PM
Fry's Ram- 1gb sticks for 19.99 Brinson Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 13 07-10-2007 01:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.