Thanks~!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2007, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
SirCyber's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Thanks~!!!

I don't know who posted it, but you saved me a trip to my computer repair shop! I messed around wtih the BIOS on the puter I'm using, and messed it up. no video, no HDD, 3 red LEDs on my (very old) mobo and one green. started beeping at me. I only changed the CPU clock speed and voltage. took RAM, mobo battery, vid card, ethernet card all out, dc'd my HDD, booted with nothing, let sit for perhaps 30-40 seconds, hard killed it, reconnected everything, booted, went back into BIOS to change boot sequence again, and it's all good!! THANK YOU SO MUCH

EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: Thanks~!!!

You're welcome.

Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Thanks~!!!

You're welcome.

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Gears of War King
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Re: Thanks~!!!

You're welcome.
MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Thanks~!!!

that was Kubel... but on his behalf... your welcome..

Originally Posted by Kubel View Post
Most likely culprits are memory and PSU. Before we start standard troubleshooting (pulling the system down to bare essentials and building one by one and testing after each addition), you probably want to test the worse case scenario first (a bad PSU), because if this thing fries, you can take out a number of hardware devices.

PSU testing will require you to free up a 4-pin molex and your aux so they are within testing reach, as well as breaking out a good multimeter, I prefer digital with small probes for computer work.

12v: Put red probe in yellow wire, black probe in black wire of 4-pin molex.
5v: Put red probe in red wire, black probe in black wire of 4-pin molex.
3.3v: Put red probe in orange wire, black probe in black wire of aux.

When I say wire, I mean the actual plug that the wire ends at, not jabbing the probe into the wire sheath . Generally, you want to test your voltages at all stages of computing (at POST, in BIOS, when Windows starts up, shuts down, idle, under load, etc...). At any stage, your voltages should be within the following ranges:

3.3V: 3.14V to 3.47V
5V: 4.75V to 5.25V
12V: 11.4V to 12.6V

If you go above or below these standard ranges, it means your PSU isn't falling within the specifications for an ATX PSU. Computer hardware is built to operate within these ranges. Any PSU that is out of these specs should probably be replaced or 'unloaded' (remove hardware) until they are within range. If you have to unload your PSU, you need a better one, because it just doesn't have what it takes to power your system.

Once you know your PSU is safe, you could run a quick Memtest overnight and report back if it found anything. <--unzip and burn image to a CD.

If memtest comes back with an error, remove all but one stick and test again- and keep doing this per memory until you determine which is the bad stick. If they all pass a night of torture, you can probably rest assured it's not the memory.

So if it's not the PSU or the RAM, I would look to blown capacitors on your motherboard (another common problem). They are easily distinguised because they have a halo of chemical residue either bursting from the top of them or blown on the motherboard beneath. They can also bulge (meaning they are about to blow). Capacitors regulate voltage and can essentially cause the same exact instability that a PSU causes. If they are expired, they will cause ****.

Once you test those three, you can start disassembling your computer and rebuilding it from scratch, testing stability after each installed device. You want to test under load. If you install a device and your computer starts acting up, you have a good idea which device it is, and you can replace it. Since your computer is under a year old, each part should be covered by warranty unless you bought refurbished parts. So good news is, this shouldn't cost you any more than a few bucks to fix (pay for shipping, RMAing old part).

Good luck!
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 07:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Thanks~!!!

wow, nice kubel

Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.