Terabyte Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2009, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default Terabyte Hard Drive

Hey everyone,
Do you think it is really nesscary to have a terabyte byte hard drive. What do you think is enough hard drive space for gaming,music,movies,pictures?
__________________

__________________
D-Rocks is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

Completely depends on the person. When you say music and movies do you mean just storage or do you do a lot of editing. Editing can take a ton of space so 1tb might not be enough. But if your just storing it and don't download constantly then 1tb may be more than enough.

I have about 2.4tb usable space and I would say thats about what I need because 1. I have a habit of never deleting things. 2. I download a lot. 3. I wanted to be able to virtualize operating systems and have dedicated space for them. 4. don't want to fill the hdd completely so I like to keep at least 25% free space for better performance.

I had a friend that constantly filled his computer with 1tb of stuff and had to delete things a lot and that was 4 years ago. I also have another friend who video edits and he goes through multiple drives of storage constantly deleted and burning to dvd, I don't know how much space but I know its a lot.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 02:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

Doesn't the hard drive lock up if you were 99% full.
__________________
D-Rocks is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

Everything will become slower. And would probably lock up if your swap file is on there and is needed. But I have had drives 99.5% full without locking up before.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

IMO you can never have too much drive space. I used to build computers and say I will never need that much space and I always find a way to fill them up. Right now I have approximately 1.5tb of info on my computer. Mostly pictures, music and home movies.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

What is better a EIDE or Serial ATA or Ultra ATA?
__________________
D-Rocks is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

sata.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

I also believe that you can never have TOO much space. The problem is backing up large amounts of data. In my case, I have around 1TB of data and am currently sketching because I hate having all that data vulnerable. But backing up that much data isn't as easy as say 250GB worth.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

When the next drive goes in I will have almost 2.5tb available for both OS and storage with a 1tb sata being added on. Running multiple versions of Windows here along with backing up updates and some work with video at times drive space is a premium.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-22-2009, 05:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Terabyte Hard Drive

i have a 750 Gig external, i download movies and music for me and my family, I've had it for 2 months now and I've yet to use up 100Gigs

if your planning on saving ALOT of games,movies and videos, then go for it, by the way by alot i mean ALOT, i have full seasons of shows like family guy, it's awsome since i'm running a media sever but again, i haven't even used up a fourth of it, i doubt i'll ever max out a 750gig
__________________

carlitos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive noise Asterix Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-10-2008 04:03 PM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.