Tense about the future

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brandinho

Baseband Member
Hey all, I'm a newbie at this forums and just wanted to get someone's opinion. I'm heading off to college at the end of summer, and I'm planning on buying a PC to bring with me. I haven't decided whether it will be a desktop (more power) or a laptop (convenient and small form factor). Now, I do enjoy gaming (Oblivion, Halo, etc), but I'm afraid if I buy a PC, it's going to be outdated instantly. I know your all thinking, duh, that's supposed to happen. I was planning on purchasing this rig:

-NZXT DUET ATX Mid-Tower Case

-NZXT PF-500 500 Watt Power Supply (might get a bigger one)

-Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6400 (2x 2.13GHz/2MB L2 Cache/1066FSB)

-[Quad-Core Support] ECS 965T-A P965 Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, USB 2.0 PCI-E MB

-2048MB [1024MB X2] DDR2-800 PC6400 Memory Module

-400 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 16M Cache]

-NVIDIA GFORCE 7950GX2 1GB w/DVI + TV Out Video (don't know about his, any recommendations?)

-Sony DW-G120 Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive

-Creative Lab Sound Blaster X-Fi

-Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Speakers + Subwoofer

However, I'm cautioning whether to spend this much, because of Direct X 10 cards coming. I was wondering whether my rig would be totally outdated in a year or two. I want my rig to play the Oblivion, RTSs and MMOs, and the new Half-Life Episode 2. Not only this, but the pc will also be for school work. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

dx10 cards are already out man
go for an 8800gts

for a psu get a fortron 450watt (fortron is FSP Group)

that motherboard is ok if your not overclocking

exactly, as fade said above, look at DX10 rather than QUAD SLI right now... A single 7950 GX2 is about the same price as an 8800GTS.

fade2black2004 said:
dx10 cards are already out man
go for an 8800gts

for a psu get a fortron 450watt (fortron is FSP Group)