Temps too hot? Reapplying thermal paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2007, 02:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Lightbulb Temps too hot? Reapplying thermal paste

I think I applied the MX-1 thermal paste to my computer wrong ( left air bubbles by lifting it up to check during installation ) since even with a tuniq tower my CPU temperatures are still running a bit hot I think ( Core temp reads core #0,1,2,3 at 45 Celcius , 38 celcius, 34 celcius, 43 celcius ). All the temps were at idle thought I did read somewhere that the q6600 g0s have something changed that leads to incorrect temp readings? Anyone hear anything about this?

Note: all q6600 settings are stock


I was wondering what the removal procedure was. Can I just unscrew my tuniq tower and pull it off? Im worried the bond is tight now and it might damage the computer top? Is it acceptable to use coffee filters and isopropyl alcohol to clean it up? MX-1 sure is sticky sticky and thick stuff...
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 02:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Temps too hot? Reapplying thermal paste

When you take off the heatsink, don't pull it straight up or off. Twist the heatsink left and right, while pulling up slowly.

Of course you can use coffee filters and isopropyl alcohol to clean the thermal paste up.

Those temperatures are pretty high for idle. Is it overclocked?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 02:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Temps too hot? Reapplying thermal paste

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
When you take off the heatsink, don't pull it straight up or off. Twist the heatsink left and right, while pulling up slowly.

Of course you can use coffee filters and isopropyl alcohol to clean the thermal paste up.

Those temperatures are pretty high for idle. Is it overclocked?
forgot to say everything stock, I haven't optimized my cable management thought ( everythings just thrown in there ) but I don't think it would make that much of a differance. Also I don't think my tuniq towers speed adjuster works since when I move it there seems to be no change in sound at all.

Note: When i first powered up the computer first thing i did was go to BIOS and went to PC health and saw the CPU temps to be 26-27 celcius
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 02:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Temps too hot? Reapplying thermal paste

Lol, i think my Tuniq H.S. is tooo heavy, its like 4 degrees tilted hehe.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 02:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: Temps too hot? Reapplying thermal paste

I have a Tuniq and a quad and at stock I was hitting 33,33,32,32. I did the line method with my AS5 Paste. Oh and I also had a pull up during my Tuniq install. I was thinking about doing a re-seat as well but I'm not sure if my temps justify that(?). I'm still a noob to this whole thing ya know. That being said, comparitively, something does seem off with your temps when compared to mine
__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 02:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Temps too hot? Reapplying thermal paste

my highest temp ever recorded is 51C and thats at full load and oced at my current speed 3.2GHz 1.362 VCore.

Idle is around 30~35C depends on how long its been off and when i go to bios.

Edit: Also when u set ur voltage in bios to automatic, sometimes it goes higher than normal. Like mine when i had it in stock and full load, vcore goes up to around 1.35V
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 10:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Temps too hot? Reapplying thermal paste

You are also only running a dual core pinoy, so your temps are going to be a lot lower than quads.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM
Read if you don't know much about thermal paste. QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 1 08-02-2007 02:09 AM
cpu thermal paste... advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 06-29-2007 11:40 AM
Thermal Paste? NathanLedet New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-30-2007 10:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.